Environmental Research Institute
Waikato Home Waikato Home  >  Environmental Research Institute  >  Research  >  Coastal and Marine Ecosystems  >  Coastal Marine Field Station  >  About Us  >  People Staff + Students Login |  - Logout

Meet our team

You can also contact the Coastal Marine Field Station.

Academic Staff:

Name:

Interests:


Prof. Chris Battershill
cbatters@waikato.ac.nz
Ph: 07 557 0481

Marine science; coastal science; environmental science; marine biosystematics; marine biodiversity; marine conservation; marine ecology; marine microbiology; chemical ecology; environmental toxicology; environmental impacts; marine biodiscovery; aquaculture; temperate reefs; tropical reefs; Antarctic marine science Chris Battershill
Dr Philip Ross
rossp@waikato.ac.nz
Ph: 07 571 2951
Temperate soft sediment and rocky reef ecosystems; marine community ecology and molecular ecology. Disturbance, dispersal, recruitment and recovery in marine ecosystems; connectivity among fragmented populations of New Zealand’s coastal benthos (primarily marine invertebrates)  Phil Ross
A Prof. Karin Bryan
kbryan@waikato.ac.nz
Ph: 07 838 4123
Morphological change and wave properties on beaches; Near-bed and swash zone sedimentation processes; Estuarine sediments, in particular suspended flocculated material Karin Bryan
Dr Willem de Lange
delange@waikato.ac.nz
Ph: 07 838 4466
ext 8239
Oceanography, coastal processes and climatic hazards; tsunami and storm surge prediction and mitigation; wave-induced sediment transport on the continental shelf and within estuaries; dispersal of materials in the coastal zone; numerical modelling Willem-De-Lang
Dr Vicki Moon
vgmoon@waikato.ac.nz
Ph: 07 838 4466
ext 8508
Geomechanics and engineering geology, particularly soft rocks; volcanic and pyroclastic materials; weathering; mass wasting of weathered and altered rocks; soil erosion from development sites Vicki-Moon
A Prof. Conrad Pilditch
conrad@waikato.ac.nz
Ph: 07 838 4466
ext 6132
Benthic oceanography/ecology; hydrodynamics and benthic organisms interactions affecting sediment transport, recruitment, nutrient fluxes and food supply Conrad-Pilditch
Dr Julia Mullarney
juliam@waikato.ac.nz
Ph: 07 838 4597
Physical oceanography, coastal ocean dynamics, geophysical fluid dynamics; mixing and turbulence processes in coastal environments; vegetation dynamics Julia Mullarney
Dr Craig Cary
caryc@waikato.ac.nz
Ph: 07 838 4593
Comparative physiology, biochemistry and ecology of microbial communities, with a focus on free-living syntrophic bacterial associations in extreme environments including hydrothermal vents and Antarctic soils. Interfacing new bioinformatic capabilities with genomic technologies in the metagenome analysis of complex microbial communities. Thermal stability of eurythermal proteins Craig Carey

Dr Adam Hartland
ahrtland@waikato.ac.nz
Ph: 64 7 838 4466
ext 8527

All aspects of aqueous chemistry and geochemistry, including: Trace element bio-geochemistry; Hydro-geochemistry; Environmental archives and Organic compounds

Adam Hartland

Dr Michele Prinsep
michele@waikato.ac.nz
Ph: 64 7 838 4466
ext 8902

Natural products chemistry, particularly that of New Zealand marine bryozoans and terrestrial cyanobacteria (blue-green algae)
Michele Prinsep

Professor Chad Hewitt
chewitt@waikato.ac.nz
Ph: 64 7 838 4386

Head of School of Science

Dr Johan Verbeek
jverbeek@waikato.ac.nz
Ph: 64 7 838 4947
Using renewable and waste materials to produce polymeric composites; filled and functionally filled polymers; polymer modification and reactive extrusion; biodegradable polymers and the prediction of mechanical properties of polymer composites
Johan Verbeek
Dr Steve Bird
sbird@waikato.ac.nz
Ph: 64 7 838 4386
Senior Lecturer (Biological Sciences)

A Prof. Nicholas Ling
nling@waikato.ac.nz
Ph: 64 7 838 4466
ext 6039
Associate Professor (Biological Sciences).
Comparative animal physiology, particularly the physiology and biomechanical behaviour of muscleand connective tissues. Environmental physiology, including the effects of environmental changes and pollutants on physiological systems.
Nicholas Ling

Technical & Support Staff:

Name:

Interests:


David Culliford
dcullifd@waikato.ac.nz
Ph: 07 578 5936

Anthropogenic effects on coastal marine ecosystems

David Culliford

Rex Fairweather
rexfairweather@gmail.com  Ph: 07 578 5936

Marine invertebrate ecology and taxonomy
Rex Fairweather
Dudley Bell
dgbtech@waikato.ac.nz
Ph: 07 838 4104
Marine, Behavioural and Antarctic Science Dudley Bell
Dirk Immenga
dirk@waikato.ac.nz
Ph: 07 858 5032
Sea floor mapping, Hydrography, Technical diving
Dirk Immenga

Warrick Powrie
wpowrie@waikato.ac.nz
Ph: 64 7 838 4424

Technician
Warrick Powrie
Chris Morcom
cmorcom@waikato.ac.nz
Ph: 64 7 838 4466
ext 8724
Advanced Technician
Chris Morcom

Dean Sandwell
sandwell@waikato.ac.nz
Ph: 64 7 838 4946

Advanced Technician
Dean Sandwell

Research Collaborators:

Name:

Interests:


Dr Keith Gregor
Bay of Plenty Polytechnic
Tropical reef biology and ecology

Keith Gregor


Dr Simon Muncaster
Bay of Plenty Polytechnic
Finfish aquaculture

Simon Muncaster

Featured Researcher

Researcher Profiles »