The University of Waikato - Te Whare Wānanga o Waikato
Professional & Organisational Development Unit
Home Waikato Home > POD > Staff Awards Staff + Student Login

Staff Awards

Roger Moltzen, Prime Minister Award for Tertiary Teaching Excellence 2006

[If you are looking for the Faculty Teaching Excellence Award nomination form please click here.]

History of Staff Awards at the University of Waikato arrow Show

Categories of Staff Awards arrow Show

Nominations for awards are generally called on the first Friday in September and the submission deadline is the last Friday in October each year. The committee meets to select recipients in mid November. Nominations for all awards apart from the Health and Safety Excellence Award, may be initiated by individual staff or students and are subject to the endorsement of the appropriate senior manager (Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Dean, Pro Vice-Chancellor, Assistant Vice-Chancellor or Director), who then forwards the completed nomination to the Staff Awards Committee. It is generally not expected that staff will nominate themselves and nominations are generally made without refererence to the individual or team concerned (unless an evidence portfolio is required). Note that staff may download and prepare a nomination at any time during the year in anticipation of the September call for nominations.

Further information about staff awards along with nomination forms follows. If you have any queries or require assistance with a Staff Award nomination please contact Mike Bell, Professional & Organisational Development Manager, Secretary to Staff Awards Committee.

Committee Administration and Staff Award Guidelines

Directory of Committees (see Staff Awards Committee)
Purposes, process and criteria for University of Waikato Staff Awards

Nomination Forms

Research Excellence Award Nomination Form
Research Postgraduate Supervision Excellence Staff Award Nomination Form
Early Career Academic Excellence Staff Award Nomination Form
Health and Safety Excellence Staff Award Nomination Form
Administrative Excellence Staff Award Nomination Form

Teaching Excellence Nomination Forms (for Faculty use only)

Teaching Excellence Staff Award Nomination Form
Nola Campbell Memorial eLearning Excellence Staff Award Nomination Form

Online Nomination Forms

Online nomination form for Faculty Teaching and eLearning Excellence Awards


Staff Merit Award Recipient List 1989 to 2005
Teaching Excellence Award Recipient List 1998 to 2005
Health and Safety Awards from 2002 to 2009
Staff Awards from 2006
List of Faculty Teaching Excellence Award Recipients since 2009

Awards Ceremonies

2017 Awards (1 December 2017)
2016 Awards (30 November 2016)
2015 Awards (2 December 2015)
2014 Awards (2 December 2014)
2013 Awards (2 December 2013)
2012 Awards (4 December 2012)
2011 Awards (1 December 2011)
2010 Awards (1 December 2010)
2009 Awards (2 December 2009)
2008 Awards (2 December 2008)
2007 Awards (3 December 2007)
2006 Awards (23 & 24 January 2007)

2017 Dates

  • Faculty Teaching Excellence award nomination deadline - 1 September
  • University award nominations open - 1 September
  • Nomination deadline - 27 October
  • Committee/selection panel meets - 6 November
  • Award recipients and unsuccessful nominees will be advised as soon as possible following the selection meeting and approval by the Vice-Chancellor
  • 2017 Awards presentation ceremony - 1 December at 4pm at the Gallagher Academy of Performing Arts
Vice-Chancellor's Medal Recipients from 2006

2006 Cheryl Cockburn-Wootten


2007 Engineering Department


2008 Judith Mudge


2009 Ian Hawthorn


2010 Mary-Jane Waddington


2011 Stephen Joe


2012 Ray Hayward


2013 Judy Carmichael


2014 John Cameron


2015 Paul Cowan


2016 Michael O'Driscoll


2017 Matt Driller

This page has been reformatted for printing.