The University of Waikato - Te Whare Wānanga o Waikato
Professional & Organisational Development Unit
Home Waikato Home > POD > Leadership > Women in Leadership Staff + Student Login

Waikato Women Professors

linda smith

Professor Linda Smith

Role: Professor of Education and Māori Development
          Pro Vice-Chancellor Māori   
Units: PVC’s Office and School of Māori & Pacific Development


Faculty Profile

Research Expertise

  • Health
  • Youth
  • Māori Language Education and Māori Development

Teaching Areas/Programmes

  • Māori Education
  • Indigenous Education

Academic and Professional Leadership Roles

  •  Interim Dean, School of Māori and Pacific Development, The University of Waikato, 2009 -
  • Government Appointed Member, New Zealand Health Research Council, 2008 -
  • Pro-Vice Chancellor Māori ,The University of Waikato, 2007 - ongoing
  • President, New Zealand Association for Research in Education, 2007
  • Adjunct Professor, University of British Columbia, Educational Studies, 2007
  • Deputy Chair, Council of Te Whare Wānanga o Awanuiārangi, 2005-2007
  • Member of Advisory Committee for Official Statistics New Zealand (Government Appointment) 2005-2007
  • Charles Perkins Memorial Oration, University of Sydney, 2004
  • Walker-Ames Visiting Scholar, University of Washington Seattle, March 2004
  • Havens Centre Visiting Scholar, University of Wisconsin-Madison, November 2003
  • Appointed as Joint Director of Ngā Pae o te Māramatanga, 2002
  • Māori Reference Group, Foundation for Research, Science and Technology, 2002
  • Chair, Māori Tertiary Education Reference Group (Ministry of Education) responsible for advising the Ministry of Education on operational strategy for Māori tertiary education, 2001-2004
  • Appointed Member, Tertiary Education Advisory Commission (TEAC) charged with advising the Minister of Tertiary Education on the shape of the tertiary education system in New Zealand, 2000-2001
  • Appointed to a Personal Chair, Professor of Education, The University of Auckland, 2001
  • New Zealand Vice Chancellors Representative, New Zealand Qualifications Authority panel for teacher education degree offered by Te Wānanga o Aotearoa, 2001


  • Te Tohu Pae Tawhiti, New Zealand Association for Research in Education, Inaugural award for Research Excellence in Māori Education, 1998
  • Jean Herbison Lecture (Award) New Zealand Association of Research in Education, 1998
  • Churchill Fellowship, 1991
  • Senior Prize (Education), The University of Auckland, 1985

This page has been reformatted for printing.