The University of Waikato - Te Whare Wānanga o Waikato
Professional & Organisational Development Unit
Home Waikato Home > POD > Leadership > Women in Leadership Staff + Student Login

Waikato Women Professors

Noeline Alcorn

Professor Noeline Alcorn

Role: Professor
Faculty: Faculty of Education
Department: Wilf Malcolm Institute of Educational Research

Contact Email:

Faculty Profile

Research Expertise

  • Educational history and policy
  • Teacher education
  • Educational leadership

Academic and Professional Leadership Roles

  • Published Ko Te Tangata. A history of the University of Waikato:  The first 50 years. 2014.
  • Chair, New Zealand Tertiary Teaching Awards Committee, 2009 - 2013
  • Member, National Executive, NZ Federation of Graduate Women, 2007-09, Awards convenor
  • Mentor to Head of School, School of Education, Solomon Islands, 2006 - 2010
  • Member, University of Waikato Research Committee, 2007
  • Chair, University of Waikato IT Committee, 2004-2006
  • Dean of Education, University of Waikato, 1992-2006
  • Member, Management Forum Vice Chancellors Committee, 1992-2006
  • Member, University of Waikato Academic Board, 1992-2006
  • Chair, New Zealand PBRF Education Panel, 2006; Panel member, 2003
  • Member, University of Waikato Honours Committee,1996-2006
  • Chair, Teacher Education Forum Aotearoa New Zealand, 1999-2006
  • Chair of AAU Audit Panel, Massey University, 2003
  • Chair, New Zealand Council for Educational Research, 1988-1993
  • Member, Editorial Board, Journal of Education for Teaching (UK)
  • Successfully supervised to completion 12 doctorates since 1996
  • Delivered Herbison Memorial lecture to NZARE conference in 1992 and 2005
  • Author of full length biography of C.E. Beeby
  • Established Waikato Journal of Education


  • Life membership of the New Zealand Association for Research in Education 2012.
  • Inducted into Marsden School Hall of Fame  2012.
  • Emeritus Professorship, University of Waikato, 2007
  • New Zealand Companion of the Queens’ Service Order, 2005
  • Suffrage Medal, 1993
  • Life Member, Auckland University Principal’ Centre, 1992
  • Fellow of the New Zealand Educational Leadership and Administration Society, 1990

This page has been reformatted for printing.