The University of Waikato - Te Whare Wānanga o Waikato
Teaching Development Unit
Waikato Home Waikato Home > Teaching Development Unit > Programmes
Staff + Student Login

Faculty Teaching Excellence Awards (FTEA)

Access this link for Previous award recipients


To recognise and reward teaching excellence at Waikato, the University gives staff and students the opportunity to nominate people who they think deserve consideration for a teaching award. Nominations may be made at any time during the year, but are processed for selection purposes following the first Friday in September, i.e. 1 September in 2017, each year. Nominations made after this will be included in the next annual selection cycle.

Staff and students can nominate any member of staff or team with teaching responsibilities by completing the online form via Faculty Teaching Excellence Award nominations.

Once five recommendations are received for an individual or teaching team, then they are asked if they would like to accept the nomination.

Each Faculty (and Te Pua Wānanga ki te Ao) is able to confer up to two FTEA each year. FTEA recipients may elect to go for the University Staff Awards (Teaching Excellence), from which four awards are made each year with a monetary value of $3000.

PLEASE NOTE that from 2016 onward, there is NO monetary allocation for FTEA; each Faculty has the option to continue funding the award internally.

Compiling a Teaching Portfolio workshops in 2017

Wednesday, 13 September

from 9am to 11am
room W.G.30 at Centre for Tertiary Teaching and Learning in W block
Facilitators:  Dr Lynne Parmenter, Senior Lecturer, and, Stephen Bright, eLearning Designer

Friday, 15 September

from 9am to 11am
room W.G.30 at Centre for Tertiary Teaching and Learning in W block
Facilitators:  Dr Arezou Zalipour, Lecturer, and, Dr Dilani Gedera, eLearning Designer

Responsibilities for the Faculty Teaching Coordinator

The Faculty Teaching Coordinator is the main point of contact in the local FTEA selection processes. In collaboration with the Dean, the Faculty Teaching Coordinator is responsible for organising the FTEA selection processes, for communicating with the nominees, and, the Pro Vice-Chancellor's (Teaching and Learning) or their representative.

Faculty Teaching Coordinators

  • Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences: Dr Diane Johnson
  • Faculty of Computing and Mathematical Sciences: AProf Stephen Joe
  • Faculty of Education: Tania Heke
  • Faculty of Law: yet to be appointed
  • Faculty of Science and Engineering: Dr Alison Campbell
  • School of Maori and Pacific Development: AProf Sandy Morrison
  • Waikato Management School: Dr Michele Schoenberger-Orgad

Responsibilities for FTEA recipients

It is expected that FTEA recipients will "share, present and promote good practice within their own and other institutions". It is therefore incumbent upon recipients to support others in the preparation of evidence and reflection portfolios, including publication of their own successful portfolios to serve as exemplars for future nominees. CeTTL will discuss opportunities for previous recipients to assist with the promotion of teaching excellence.

Support and Resources for Nominees

Centre for Tertiary Teaching and Learning (CeTTL) staff are available to support and coach nominees in the preparation of Teaching Portfolios.

CeTTL will offer workshops on Compiling a Teaching Portfolio for nominees in September of each year. To register, email

Additionally, the following portfolio development resources and sample portfolios are available online:

Key contacts

Centre for Tertiary Teaching and Learning (CeTTL)

Dr Lynne Parmenter, Senior Lecturer, extn 8697 e-mail

Dr Arezou Zalipour, Lecturer, extn 4634 e-mail

Dr Tracy Bowell, PVC Teaching & Learning, VC's Office, extn 9351 e-mail

Related Links

University Staff Awards

AKO Aotearoa National Tertiary Teaching Excellence Awards (NTTEA)

Previous recipients of NTTEA