## Constitution of the University of Waikato Council Notice 2015

Pursuant to section 170 of the Education Act 1989 ("the Act"), the Minister for Tertiary Education gives the following notice.

## Notice

- 1. Name of the Council—The name of the Council is the University of Waikato Council.
- 2. Date of effect—This constitution comes into effect on 10 December 2015.
- 3. Number of members of the Council—The Council comprises 12 members.
- **4.** Maximum number of occasions on which people may serve as members of the Council—(1) A person may be appointed as a member of the Council for a term of up to four years. The maximum number of occasions on which a person may serve as a member of the Council is:
  - (a) the number that ensures that the total period for which that person is a member of the Council does not exceed 16 years (consecutive or otherwise); or
  - (b) in the case of a person appointed by virtue of holding a stated office, any number of terms or years while he or she continues in that office.
- (2) If the term of a member expires before a successor is appointed, he or she continues as a member until his or her successor's appointment takes effect.

Dated at Wellington this 29th day of July 2015.

Hon STEVEN JOYCE, Minister for Tertiary Education.

2015-au4654