Research Connections

Our National & International Links

Collaborative research programmes are of fundamental importance to the Environmental Research Institute. We work with:

Internationally, the ERI has links with:

  • Argonne National Laboratory, Illinois, USA
  • Australian Antarctic Division, Department of Sustainability, Environment, Water, Population and Communities, Australia
  • Australian Institute of Marine Sciences, Queensland, Australia
  • Baltimore Ecosystem Study, Cary Institute of Ecosystem Studies, Millbrook, New York, USA
  • Colorado State University, Fort Collins, USA
  • Desert Research Institute, Reno, Nevada, USA
  • DOE Joint Genome Institute, Walnut Creek, California, USA
  • Ecological Cities Project, University of Massachusetts, USA
  • GLEON (Global Lake Ecological Observatory Network)
  • Invasive Animal Cooperative Research Centre, Australia
  • INTERCOAST, University of Bremen, Germany
  • Korea Polar Research Institute, South Korea
  • Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, USA
  • MO BIO Laboratories Inc, Carlsbad, California, USA
  • National Parks Board, Singapore
  • San Francisco State University, USA
  • South China Institute of Oceanology, China
  • Tongii University, Shanghai, China
  • University of Aberdeen, United Kingdom
  • University of California, Berkley, USA
  • University of California, Davis, USA
  • University of Nevada, Las Vegas, USA
  • University of Southern California, USA
  • University of Western Australia, Perth, Australia
  • University of Western Cape, Cape Town, South Africa
  • Virginia Tech, Virginia, USA
  • Yamanashi Institute of Environmental Sciences, Japan

The ERI’s key end-users include:

  • Auckland Council
  • Bay of Plenty District Health Board
  • Bay of Plenty Regional Council
  • DairyNZ
  • Department of Conservation
  • Fish and Game New Zealand
  • Hamilton City Council
  • Lake Tarawera Ratepayers' Association
  • Lake Water Quality Society
  • MAF Biosecurity New Zealand
  • Ministry for the Environment
  • Ministry of Fisheries
  • Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade
  • Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry
  • New Plymouth District Council
  • NZ Landcare Trust
  • QEII National Trust
  • Rotorua District Council
  • Tauranga District Council
  • Waikato Regional Council
  • Te Arawa Lakes Trust
  • Waikato Raupatu Lands Trust

Other Research Institutes at the University of Waikato

Wilf Malcolm Institute of Educational Research
Institute for Business Research
National Institute of Demographic and Economic Analysis