About Us

University of Waikato Campus

The University of Waikato Foundation - Te Pou Taunaki - is an independent charitable trust, formed to support and fund the University of Waikato to help it take New Zealand ideas to the world. The Foundation raises funds to support the strategic objectives of the University.

The Foundation is the vehicle by which the University and its constituents can receive gifts, sponsorships, donations, bequests, etc. Funds received are distributed by the Board of Trustees at its discretion and according to the wishes of benefactors. Funds may be for a particular and stated use or for the general purposes of the University. Naming rights to University buildings and facilities are also handled by the Foundation.

The Foundation is governed by an independent Board of Trustees which has a fiduciary duty to ensure that all funds donated to the University are managed, invested and disbursed appropriately according to the wishes of donors. The University's relationships with our benefactors and management of the Foundation's activities are the responsibilities of the Development Office.

The Foundation has established a fund in the United States which provides alumni and friends with the tax advantages accorded to US residents for philanthropic giving.

Foundation Board of Trustees

Dr John Gallagher, CNZM, KStJ, JP - Patron
Mr Michael Crawford - Chairman
Rt Hon Jim Bolger, ONZ - Chancellor
Mrs Susan Hassall
Mr Ken Williamson, OStJ, QSM, JP