2017 Norris Ward McKinnon Postgraduate Scholarship winners announced

Te Piringa – Faculty of Law is delighted to announce Juliet Chevalier-Watts and Dee Holmes as recipients of the 2017 Norris Ward McKinnon Postgraduate Scholarship.

Law Dean Associate Professor Wayne Rumbles says the new scholarship reinforces the faculty's commitment to research. "And we're extremely grateful to the team at Norris Ward McKinnon for recognising this and coming on board as a sponsor."

Juliet Chevalier-Watts and Dee Holmes are the first recipients of the award that will support PhD students' research in their chosen fields over a 12-month period. They received their scholarships from Gillian Spry, a Waikato alumna and partner at Norris Ward McKinnon.

Gillian says having a scholarship dedicated to masters or doctorate research at the Law School supports the development and growth of the school, which is the foundation for developing strong legal skills in the Waikato.

Both organisations see the scholarships as a way of fostering relationships between researchers and legal practitioners. "The scholarships foster collegiality, bringing researchers and legal practitioners together to share and learn from the outcomes of the researchers once completed," says Gillian.