Māori Land Court Minute Books

The Māori Land Court Minute Books are a valuable source of information on Māori land, whakapapa and iwi histories.

The University of Waikato Library holds a collection of Māori Land Court Minute Books on microfilm and in bound volumes, from 1865-1975 (approximately). These cover all seven Māori Land Court districts - Tairawhiti, Waiariki, and Waikato-Maniapoto (bound volumes) and Aotea, Taitokerau, Takitimu, and Te Wai Pounamu (on microfilm). The minute book collection is located in Mātangireia on Level 4 of the University of Waikato Library.

The minute books are used as a resource for courses in geography, history, law and Māori, and are also well used by students, staff and the general public doing personal research.

A keyword searchable computer index (originally developed at Auckland University) situated by the minute book collection, is available to assist in finding information from 1865 to 1910.

The Library is the only central North Island location that holds a collection of this type. Other libraries holding this collection include: Auckland University Library, Auckland Libraries, Alexander Turnbull Library and the National Archives.