Council and Academic Board

The University Council and Academic Board are established under the Education Act 1989. Council is the governing body of the University and its membership includes representatives from the wider community and appointees of the Minister of Education. Academic Board is made up of members of academic staff of the University and is established as a committee of the Council to advise the Council on matters relating to courses of study or training, awards and other academic matters, and to exercise powers delegated to it by the Council.

The current Chancellor, and Chair of the University Council, is Sir Anand Satyanand.