Our region and our campuses

The University of Waikato is located in the Waikato and Bay of Plenty regions of New Zealand. These regions have a total population of almost 750,000 and geographically stretch from coast to coast across the centre of the North Island.

Hamilton and Tauranga are both about a one-and-a-half-hour drive south of Auckland and a seven-hour drive north of Wellington. The region includes some of New Zealand’s most famous beaches on both the East and West coasts, as well as popular tourist destinations such as Hobbiton, Rotorua and Lake Taupo.

The University of Waikato, in addition to its strong international rankings, also has a strong regional focus. Our motto is “Ko te Tangata”, which means “For the People” and we strongly support the success of our local communities. We also run programmes in China, located at Shanghai International Studies University (SISU), Zhejiang University City College (ZUCC), and Hebei University of Science and Technology (HEBUST).

The Hamilton campus is located in the suburb of Hillcrest, about 10-minutes drive from the Hamilton CBD, on Hillcrest Road. The Tauranga campus is located at 101-121 Durham Street in the heart of Tauranga CBD. Please search Google Maps for information about locations.

Further information about our campuses may be found here.