Nominations for awards are generally called on the first Friday in September and the submission deadline is usually the last Friday in October each year (please refer to the dates for this year further down the page). The committee meets to select recipients in early to mid November. Nominations may be initiated by individual staff and should be supported by the nominee's manager.

It is generally not expected that staff will nominate themselves and nominations are usually made without refererence to the individual or team concerned (unless an evidence portfolio is required).

Note that staff may download and prepare a nomination at any time during the year in anticipation of the September call for nominations.

Further information about staff awards along with the nomination form follows. If you have any queries or require assistance with a Staff Award nomination please contact Mike Bell, Professional & Organisational Development Manager, Secretary to Staff Awards Committee.

Committee Administration and Staff Award Guidelines

Directory of Committees (see link to Committee Directory and look for Staff Awards Committee)
Purposes and process for University of Waikato Staff Awards

Nomination Form

Staff Awards Nomination Form


Staff Merit Award Recipient List 1989 to 2005
Teaching Excellence Award Recipient List 1998 to 2005
Health and Safety Awards from 2002 to 2009
Staff Awards from 2006
List of Faculty Teaching Excellence Award Recipients since 2009

Previous Awards Ceremonies

2019 Awards (4 December 2019)
2018 Awards (5 December 2018)
2017 Awards (1 December 2017)
2016 Awards (30 November 2016)
2015 Awards (2 December 2015)
2014 Awards (2 December 2014)

2020 Dates

  • Division Teaching Excellence award nomination deadline - 4 September
  • University award nominations open - 4 September
  • Nomination deadline - 23 October
  • Committee/selection panel meets - 3 November
  • Award recipients and unsuccessful nominees will be advised as soon as possible following the selection meeting and approval by the Vice-Chancellor
  • 2020 Awards presentation ceremony - 14 December