Bus to Uni - Te Ara ki Angitū programme

As part of the Te Ara ki Angitū programme, the University of Waikato currently offers a free daily bus service for students living in wider areas of the Waikato Region.

The buses will run from selected towns across the Waikato, and will travel Monday to Friday to and from the University during the semester (excluding the holidays and limited service during exams).The buses will be scheduled to arrive at the University by 8.45am, allowing you to make class from 9am to 5pm daily. Seats are limited and will be allocated to first-year students as a priority, then to others.

Bus routes and timetables

How much does it cost?

The University of Waikato Regional Bus Service is free!

Students will first need to register before receiving a Student bus pass. Students failing to present a bus pass will be required to pay.

These can be collected from the Regional Bus Coordinator, Tuhoro Paki. Please contact him on to arrange a time for collection.

Are you eligible?

Eligible students are those currently studying at the University of Waikato, and living in/near one of the following towns:

  • Huntly
  • Morrinsville
  • Matamata
  • Ngāruawahia
  • Ngātea
  • Otorohanga
  • Paeroa
  • Putaruru
  • Te Aroha
  • Te Kauwhata
  • Te Kuiti
  • Thames
  • Tokoroa
  • Waihi
  • Waitoa

How to register

If you would like to use this service, you will need to register for the Bus to Uni.


Please note: Approval will depend on the availability of places.

Contact us

Student Success Office
Tuhoro Paki
Phone: 07 858 5198