The University of Waikato - Te Whare Wānanga o Waikato
Home Waikato Home > About Waikato University Staff + Student Login

Coat of Arms

The motto, Ko Te Tangata, means "For the People" and reflects the University's philosophy that people are central to the institution and are our most valued resource.

The outside red border is a stylised fern frond or pitau that symbolises new birth, growth, vitality, strength and achievement. The open book surrounded by the four stars of the Southern Cross is a symbol of learning. The Coat of Arms design is in the University's colours of black, red and gold.

University of Waikato Coat of Arms

High-res versions of the University of Waikato Coat of Arms can be downloaded from the Communications Office. The Coat of Arms may be used by University staff and students on official and study-related university documents such as assignments and reports. Third parties should seek permission from the Communications Office.


Apply Now! Prospectus

Agents in Your Country

Contact an official representative of the University of Waikato in your region who can provide you with advice on study options at Waikato.

Waikato research and expertise

Research & expertise at Waikato Find out more

Stay Connected

Facebook Twitter You Tube Instagram LinkedIn SnapChat Email

Visit our social directory for more channels.

This page has been reformatted for printing.