The Picturebook Club Meeting

22 February 2017

The Picturebook Club

Picturebooks are often underestimated, but those in the know, know that they can represent the very best marriage of prose and visual art, and can communicate sophisticated ideas.

The Picturebook Club is open to all university staff and students. We meet every Wednesday in the cultural hour in the Teaching Resource Library (Faculty of Education, between Gates 4 and 5) from 1.10-2pm. Our purpose is simply to share and discuss picturebooks for 50 minutes.

Our first meeting will be on Wednesday March 1 where we will be discussing New Zealand picturebook award winners from the last few years.

In subsequent weeks we will discuss award winners from other countries, sophisticated picturebooks, wordless picturebooks, and focus on particularly successful picturebooks writers and illustrators such as Anthony Browne, Jeannie Baker, Alison Lester, Gavin Bishop, Margaret Mahy, Pamela Allen, Katarina Mataira, Tim Tīpene, Mem Fox, Eric Carl, Robert Munsch, Julia Donaldson, Raymond Briggs, Janet and Allan Ahlberg, and  Shirley Hughes.