University of Waikato Hockey Club

The University of Waikato Hockey Club is the largest hockey club in the Waikato, boasting a total of eight teams, ranging from premier through to social teams for both men and women. Both tertiary students and community members (non-students) are able to join.

The premier men’s and women’s teams compete in three championship competitions annually; the Waikato Hockey 9 a-side Championships, the Waikato Hockey Premier Championships and the Midlands Inter-city Club Championships. Alongside the premier teams, the Waikato University Hockey Club also has six other lower grade (more social) teams.


Keep an eye on their Facebook page for more info on their second trial which is on Sunday March 5th.

The University of Waikato Hockey Club is a member of University of Waikato Sports Clubs (UWSC)

Contact: Greg Middleton, | Gemma Sweeney,

More Information: Website | Facebook

UTSNZ Hockey

Join Team Waikato and represent the university at the UTSNZ National Tertiary Hockey Championships which take place in July every year. You can register your interest by emailing:

For more information about this and other upcoming sports events, click here

High Performance

The University of Waikato works in partnership with Midlands Hockey to support talented hockey players. For more information about how the University provides athlete support, click here