University of Waikato Rugby Club

Founded in 1961, the Waikato University Rugby Football Club (WURFC) has a 50 year tradition of providing the best platform for talented rugby players to reach higher honours and to provide members with team experiences they can cherish for life.

The club is open to students and community members and currently fields five senior teams as well as various other age group and weight class teams. The club had a successful season in 2016, with the premier men’s team finishing in the Top 4 in the premier competition and with numerous players gaining selection into regional and national representative teams.

CHECK OUT THIS LINK for PRE-SEASON TRAINING information and key contacts!

* Note the Club does not run 'Trials' as such, but you are encouraged to attend pre-season training's!

Club Contact (General Enquires): Gary Buttimore (Secretary):

More Information: Facebook, Website

The Waikato University Rugby Football Club is a member of University of Waikato Sports Clubs (UWSC)

UTSNZ Sevens

Female students have the opportunity to join Team Waikato and represent the university at the UTSNZ National Tertiary Women’s Rugby Sevens Championships.

Held on campus in 2016, the Waikato women’s team finished second overall with four players gaining selection into the tournament team that will travel to Wales to compete in the World University Rugby Sevens Championships.

The 2017 UTSNZ Women's Seven's Championships was held in Palmerston North on 25 March.The University of Waikato women's team finished 2nd overall, with 3 players being selected into the tournament team.

Interested in playing Seven's for the Uni at this Tertiary event in 2018? Contact: for more info on how to get involved.

For information about other upcoming sports events, click here

Social Sport

Social Sport is one of Hamilton’s premier social competitions and takes place on campus at the University of Waikato. Offering a range of sports including Touch Rugby, Social Sport caters for all levels of sporting ability.

As part of the Social Sport Outdoor Series, Touch Rugby takes place between October – February, with all games being played on the University of Waikato fields:

  • 14 week league
  • Tuesdays, 5.40pm – 8.00pm
  • 35 minute games
  • Mixed teams (at least two females on the field at all times)
  • Six players on field (maximum of 12 per team)

For more information, visit the Social Sport website

High Performance

The University of Waikato works in partnership with the Waikato Rugby Union to support talented rugby players. For more information about how the University provides athlete support, click here