3MT Masters Competition

What is it?

The 3MT Masters Competition is a competition for Masters Research candidates.  All Masters Research candidates who are currently enrolled in a research project of 90 points or above, are eligible to enter and have the opportunity to present their research in just 3 minutes.

The Three Minute Thesis (3MT®) is an academic competition developed by The University of Queensland (UQ), Australia for research students. The competition challenges candidates to present a compelling oration on their thesis and its significance in just three minutes in language appropriate to an intelligent but non-specialist audience. This presentation should address the following questions:

  • What are you researching?
  • Why are you researching this topic?
  • What are the values or outcomes of your research?

The purpose of the 3MT Masters is to encourage students to develop and demonstrate their ability to communicate about the research they are undertaking and the wider social, community, political, scientific and/or economic value of that research. It also provides an opportunity to disseminate the research findings to audiences who might otherwise not even become aware of projects being undertaken.

3MT is not an exercise in trivialising or 'dumbing-down' research but forces students to consolidate their ideas and crystallise their research discoveries.

The winner of the 3MT Masters Competition will go on to represent the University of Waikato at the 2017 National 3MT Masters Inter-University Challenge at Victoria University of Wellington on Thursday 24 August 2017.

The 2016 3MT Masters Competition was held on Friday 26 August 2016

Winner - Stevie Noe - Faculty of Science and Engineering - Nectar to Honey, Honey to Money
Runner-up -  Bianca Lawrie - Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences - The Portrayal of the German Water Nymphs: Lorelei and the Beautiful Lau

3MT Winner Runner-up and Judges

(Left to right; Judge - Debra Tanfield, Winner - Stevie Noe, Runner-up - Bianca Lawrie, Judge - Dr Tracy Bowell and Judge - Dr Te Taka Keegan)

2016 3MT entrants

(Entrants - Left to right; Brendan Madley, Kate Booker, Wenefe Balbalin, Te Kuru o te Marama Dewes, Julia Newland (front), Stine Sorensen, Stevie Noe, Bianca Lawrie, Marlana Maru and Anna Eames)

The 2015 3MT Masters Final was held on Wednesday 12 August 2015

Winner - Valarie Bianchi - Faculty of Education - What are the needs of Department of Conservation Rangers working in education?

3MT Masters Winner

(Left to right; Dr Te Taka Keegan, Valerie Bianchi, Ms Catherine Downes, Professor Al Gillespie)

3MT Masters Finalists

(Left to right; Winner - Valerie Bianchi, Finalists - Te Kuru o te Marama Dewes, Olivia Loeffen, Juliana Brown)

Congratulations to all of our 2015 finalists:
Olivia Loeffen - WMS  - Women in Leadership: Exploring Womens Leadership Journeys
Juliana Brown  - FASS  - Negotiating Sex: The Transition from High School to Halls of Residence
Te Kuru o te Marama Dewes  - SMPD - Tukutuku Reo - Māori Language Transmission. Case Study: Te Whānau a Te Kapunga – The descendants of Te Kapunga