National and international researchers are encouraged to visit the Wilf Malcolm Institute of Educational Research and collaborate with staff and students at the University of Waikato. We have strong collaborative research linkages with Māori research organisations, government organisations, schools, other universities and national and international research centres.

Partners and collaborators

Faculty of Education, Monash University
Institute of Education, London
Kings College, London
New Zealand Council for Educational Research (NZCER)
STEM Tertiary Education Centre (STEM-TEC), Auckland University of Technology
Teachers College, Columbia University
Te Whare Wānanga o Awanuiārangi
The Royal Society of New Zealand
University of Auckland
University of Canterbury
University of Otago
University of Pennsylvania Graduate School of Education
UIT The Arctic University, Norway
New Zealand Schools


Government Agencies

Ministry of Education
Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment
Department of Labour
Sport New Zealand (Formerly SPARC)
Tertiary Education Commission

Competitive Funding

Marsden Fund
Teaching and Learning Research Initiative

Private Companies
International Governments

Through the Wilf Malcolm Institute of Educational Research, the University of Waikato is an institutional member of the international Collaborative Action Research Network. Division of Education staff are foundational members of New Zealand Collaborative Action Research Network.