Directors: Alister JonesBronwen Cowie, & Catherine Buntting

Learning Hubs team: 

  • Andrea Soanes (Project Manager)
  • Angela Schipper
  • Greta Dromgool
  • Rachel Douglas
  • Vanya Bootham
  • Simone Marsters
  • Tom Goulter

Project Dates: 2005 - ongoing

Science Learning Hub

The Science Learning Hub is a national project funded by the Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment and managed by the Wilf Malcolm Institute of Educational Research at the University of Waikato. The Science Learning Hub programme of work is a key component of the Government’s strategic plan for science in society: A Nation of Curious Minds – He Whenua Hihiri I te Mahara.

The Science Learning Hub promotes student interest and engagement in science by providing contemporary, contextualised resources for school teachers and students. It demonstrates the relevance of scientific research to our everyday lives.

The Biotechnology Learning Hub and Science Learning Hub were orignially launched in 2005 and 2007. On October 4, 2016, the combined new-look Science Learning Hub was launched by the Honourable Steven Joyce (right), Minister of Science and Innovation.

The new-look Science Learning Hub combines resources from the ‘classic’ Science and Biotechnology sites, continuing to offer a free, open access channel of information and communication designed to make contemporary NZ science and technology more accessible to teachers, school students, and the wider community.

The University of Waikato collaborates with a variety of other organisations on this project and it’s resources are developed in collaboration with the NZ science and biotechnology communities. This includes researchers in Crown Research Institutes, the tertiary sector, and other research associations and organisations in New Zealand who are featured on the Science learning Hub. The University of Waikato is grateful to them for their support.