Writer in Residence

The Kaipukahu University of Waikato Writer in Residence

Each year the University of Waikato invites applications for the position of Writer in Residence, tenable for twelve months from early January.  The position is jointly funded by the University of Waikato and Creative New Zealand.  It is open to poets, novelists, short story writers, dramatists, and writers of serious non-fiction. The appointment is made on the basis of a record of publications of high quality, and on the strength of the residency proposal.

There are no teaching or lecturing duties attached to the award, the sole purpose of which is to give the Writer the freedom to write.  It is expected the Writer will participate in the cultural life of the University

Our name:  The late Ngāti Wairere elder Meto Hopa spoke of an ancient whare wānanga of Ngāti Wairere called Te Tiwhaopareiriwhare that stood on the ridge now known as Hillcrest Road, Hamilton East. According to Meto, the surrounding forest and swamp was called Kaipukahu for its abundance of foods – kai meaning food, and pukahu meaning abundant. Equally significant was the food for the soul, the food for the mind and the food for the heart spread and gathered at the whare wānanga Te Tiwhaopareiriwhare. The Kaipukahu University of Waikato residency for writers acknowledges the symbolism and mana of Kaipukahu, and the fact that the University of Waikato stands on the site of Te Tiwhaopareiriwhare.

Applications are to be made on the University of Waikato application form available from the Careers website.

For more information, please contact Sarah Shieff (email sarah.shieff@waikato.ac.nz) or Catherine Chidgey (email catherine.chidgey@waikato.ac.nz)

Previous Writers in Residence

2023 Anthony Byrt
Diana Clarke
2021 Michalia Arathimos
2020 Richard von Sturmer
2019 Rosetta Allan
2018 Therese Lloyd
2017 Bob Orr
2016 Steven Toussaint
2015 Mandy Hager
2014 Dr John Newton
2013 Professor Andrew Sharp
2012 Michael Morrissey
2011 Jeffrey Holman
2010 Albert Belz
2009 Catherine Chidgey
2008 Christopher Bourke
2007 Ken Catran
2006 Peter Wells
2005 Tina Shaw
2004 No appointment
2003 Mitch Thomas
2002 Kate Camp
2001 Anna Jackson
2000 John Dickson
1999 Beryl Fletcher
1998 Elspeth Sandys
1997 John Cranna
1996 John Pule
1995 Renee
1994 Michael King
1993 Mona Williams
1992 Maurice Shadbolt
1991 Tessa Duder