Te Rōpū Manukura

Te Kotahi Research Institute (TKRI) is the unified vision of Te Rōpū Manukura, a unique advisory body representing all iwi (tribes) within the University’s region.

Te Rōpū Manukura is established as a committee of the Council, in partnership, Te Rōpū Manukura act as Kaitiaki (guardian) of the Treaty of Waitangi for the University of Waikato. Te Kotahi Research Institute works closely with Te Rōpū Manukura to meet the needs of iwi and hapū. This unique relationship allows for direct engagement, connections, and collaborative working environments to meet tribal research aspirations.

Te Rōpū Manukura is currently made up of members from over 20 different iwi within the catchment area of the University. Te Rōpū Manukura is chaired by Parekawhia McLean (Ngāti Mahanga - Hourua, Waikato, Ngāti Maniapoto).

Iwi Members of Te Rōpū Manukura

Hauraki Māori Trust Board

Maniapoto Māori Trust Board

Ngāti Kahungunu Iwi Incorporated

Te Runanga o Ngāti Pukenga Iwi ki Tauranga Trust

Ngāti Ranginui Iwi Society Incorporated

Te Arawa Lakes Trust Board

Te Rūnanga o Ngāti Te Rangi Iwi Trust

Te Rūnanga o Ngāti Awa

Te Rūnanga o Te Whānau-ā-Apanui

Te Rūnanga o Tūranganui-ā-Kiwa

Te Rūnanganui o Ngāti Porou

The Raukawa Trust Board

Tūwharetoa Māori Trust Board

Waikato Tainui - Te Kauhanganui

Wairoa - Waikaremoana Maori Trust Board

Whakatōhea Māori Trust Board