Adjust settings before Meeting
- Open Zoom and log in.
- In the initial Zoom window, select the Settings cog at the top-right of the page.
- On the left of the Settings Panel is a list of all the possible settings.
Note: Some settings need to be selected before beginning the Zoom session and cannot be changed once the meeting is in progress. Most of these settings allow space for personal preference and the meeting will still run if left to the default settings options.
Adjust settings during Meeting
Some settings can also be adjusted while the meeting is in session. The task bar at the bottom of the screen appears when the mouse is hovering over the Zoom screen area.
Audio and Video Settings
Audio and video settings can be accessed through the Up Arrows next to the microphone and video camera icons. Select the icons to toggle audio/video on and off.
Advanced Sharing Options
The Up Arrow next to the Share screen button reveals further Advanced Sharing Options. Note: this option is only available to the Host.
Breakout Rooms is a feature that allows participants to be divided (either automatically or manually) into smaller groups for group discussion. This feature is very helpful in a virtual classroom environment, where sections of the class can discuss together before returning to the main teaching space. The host can visit each group individually.
Participants can be added to specific groups by using the Assign button on the right.
Further options for Breakout Rooms can be viewed by selecting the Options button at the bottom of the pop-out window.