Our Faculties and Schools of Study

Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences

The Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences offers a wide range of qualifications from undergraduate certificates, diplomas and degrees through to postgraduate research. Subjects taught within the Faculty include the Social Sciences, the Humanities, including a number of modern foreign languages, and the Performing Arts.

School of Computing and Mathematical Sciences

The School of Computing and Mathematical Sciences provides a stimulating and leading-edge environment of quality relevant teaching programmes and world-class research, producing graduates well matched for the challenges of the contemporary and future workplace.

Te Kura Toi Tangata Faculty of Education

The Te Kura Toi Tangata Faculty of Education provides programmes in areas such as teacher education, counselling, human development, education, educational leadership and education studies. It distinguishes itself among other education schools through its tradition and reputation for innovation, leadership and research.

Te Huataki Waiora School of Health

The Te Huataki Waiora School of Health provides an innovative platform for bringing together expertise from across the University and our community to explore new ideas and ways of looking at issues and challenges that affect how we live, work and play.

Te Piringa - Faculty of Law

The Te Piringa - Faculty of Law provides an innovative, student-focused Bachelor of Laws (LLB) degree in a stimulating academic environment. The Faculty's founding goals of professionalism, biculturalism, and the study of law in context attract an exciting and diverse group of staff and students.

Te Pua Wānanga ki te Ao - Faculty of Māori and Indigenous Studies

The Faculty of Māori and Indigenous Studies offers programmes in Māori language and linguistics, culture, customs, creative and performing arts, media and communication, Treaty of Waitangi, and development studies.

Faculty of Science and Engineering

The Faculty of Science and Engineering offers a range of innovative programmes for the undergraduate degrees of Bachelor of Engineering with Honours, Bachelor of Science, and the Bachelor of Science (Technology). The Faculty also hosts the Environmental Research Institute and the only university based Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment (MBIE) funded Outcome Based Investment on freshwater restoration. Commercial units include Radio Carbon Dating, Stable Isotopes and DNA Sequencing.

Waikato Management School

The Waikato Management School has distinguished itself among New Zealand business schools by the relevance and rigour of its education and research, and its belief that business and enterprise are most successful when they improve the communities, societies, and nations in which they operate.

Waikato Pathways College

Waikato Pathways College provide a range of learning opportunities that are research-informed, locally and internationally connected, dynamic and distinctive. The College offers university preparation courses, and foundation, bridging and English language programmes. They also support international study groups in range of discipline areas and train teachers who want to teach English to adults.

Te Mata Kairangi School of Graduate Research

The School of Graduate Research manages domestic student enquiries related to enrolment, and assists enrolled candidates with administration matters for the following degrees: PhD, MPhil, EdD, DMA, SJD, DLit, DSc and LLD.