About Us - Coastal Marine Field Station

Chris Battershill and students

Chair in Coastal Science Chris Battershill and students

Growth of a research hub

In December 2011 the University of Waikato’s Environmental Research Institute opened the Coastal Marine Field Station in Sulphur Point, Tauranga, and within a year the premises were extended to cope with a significant increase in research activity.

Chair in Coastal Science, Professor Chris Battershill heads the Coastal Marine Field Station and its team. It is the hub for a wide range of ground breaking research being conducted in Tauranga Harbour and around the Bay of Plenty.

Collaborative partnerships in the Bay of Plenty

The University of Waikato is one of the premier universities in New Zealand for multidisciplinary aquatic science. It is also the only university in the southern hemisphere to have a working tertiary partnership dedicated to enhancing tertiary education offerings in the Bay of Plenty.

The Bay of Plenty Tertiary Education Partnership, comprising Te Whare Wānanga o Awanuiārangi, Toi Ohomai Institute of Technology and The University of Waikato, work collaboratively in the area of marine science. As part of this collaboration, Professor Battershill leads the Te Mauri Moana tertiary research group, responsible for monitoring the long-term impacts of the Rena grounding.

The Marine Station also works closely with iwi, local government and regional development agencies, and is part of the University’s Environmental Research Institute (ERI) which conducts environmental research into Antarctic, Coastal, Freshwater and Terrestial ecosystems.

Find out more about: