Offshore programmes

The University of Waikato was the first New Zealand university to be approved to teach and award three of its degrees in China and we have a long history of collaborating with global partners to deliver quality education programmes offshore.

Our global programmes range from credit recognition to joint delivery all the way through to a joint institute offering three degree programmes.

  • Shanghai International Studies University (SISU) – Shanghai, China – Pathways from training programmes at SISU to the Bachelor of Business, Bachelor of Arts and the Bachelor of Social Sciences. These degrees sit with Waikato Management School and the Division of Arts, Law, Psychology and Social Sciences.
  • Hebei University of Science and Technology (HEBUST) – Shijiazhuang, China – The University of Waikato contributes to undergraduate programme delivery, students can then transfer to the University of Waikato and complete 180 points under BSc to gain a degree from both institutions.
  • 3+1+1 Programmes – China and Thailand – Students complete three years of undergraduate study at a global partner, transfer to the University of Waikato for one year of study abroad, and then have the option to complete one more year to gain a Waikato Master’s degree.
  • Guaranteed Credit Agreements – South, East and Southeast Asia – Students can receive 120-180 points of credit recognition, depending on the programmes they transfer from, towards degree programmes at the University of Waikato.
For further information please contact:

Tom Roberts
Operations Manager - Global Programmes
[email protected]