Waikato celebrates Trust Waikato student researchers

15 June 2010

Ten Waikato University students are undertaking graduate or postgraduate research on Waikato community issues thanks to grants from Trust Waikato.

The students, from Faculties across the University, have been recognised by Trust Waikato for their projects that will enhance understanding of, or work within, the community or volunteer sector, and research that has the potential to improve the lives of the people of the Waikato community.

The Waikato Trust Grant recipients are:

  • Kirsty Barber, who is completing a PhD entitled ‘Realising Our Best Intentions: Vision, Values and Voice in Community Mental Health Organisations’
  • Hannah Cleland, for her Bachelor of Social Sciences (Honours) research project formulating a directory of contact details and a brief description of the mental health and other social/welfare services available in Cambridge
  • Anna Cox, for her PhD exploring the development of a local food system based on community values
  • Wendy Li, for her PhD researching ‘Filial Piety at a Distance: Older Chinese Immigrants’ Ageing in Place’
  • Yvonne Phillips, who is undertaking research for a Master of Management Studies degree, investigating home energy efficiency in the Waikato
  • Kirstie McAllum, for her PhD research entitled ‘The meanings of voluntary activity: Understanding the relationships among volunteering, wellbeing and work
  • Kathryn Robins, who is completing a Master of Social Science degree, researching the implications for victims of violence when child contact is initiated with the perpetrating parent after separation
  • Lisa Stone, who is close to completing a Master of Social Science, examining reactions to transgender people navigating social spaces, the strategies trans people use to retain their identity, dignity and safety, and how they create trans-friendly spaces
  • Jason Waterman, who is completing a PhD thesis exploring contemporary Native American and Maori literatures using ecocritical techniques
  • Sehai Schoenberger-Orgad, for her Master of Management Studies research project entitled ‘Communicating policy: Evaluating the communication interface between public sector organisations and their community publics’.

A function to celebrate their achievements was hosted by the University on May 31 at the Academy of Performing Arts.

The Trust Waikato Student Community Grants were established in 2001 when Trust Waikato realised that a large amount of research on community groups was being undertaken by students as part of their course-work.

By providing funding for these students, Trust Waikato assists them in providing helpful resources for the community groups involved. The awards are open for applications three times a year by students undertaking graduate or postgraduate research involving the community or voluntary sector in the Waikato region.

Trust Waikato Winner

Community Research: Trust Waikato grant recipients from back left to right, Hannah Cleland, Kirstie McAllum, Kirsty Barber, Jason Waterman, Kathryn Robins, Anna Cox and Lisa Stone. Middle front left to right, Yvonne Phillips, Wendy Li and Sehai Schoenberger-Orgad.

Latest stories