Waikato students scoop a third of scholarships

25 June 2010

The University of Waikato has scooped a third of scholarships offered by the Energy Education Trust.

The nationally contestable scholarships were awarded to five Waikato University students who demonstrate academic excellence. Each recipient received $5000.

Among the recipients were Abbie Fowler, who is studying a Bachelor of Social Science degree; Alexandra Keyte-Beattie, who is studying a Bachelor of Arts and Bachelor of Science (technology) degree; and, Ian Laing, Bayleigh Petchell and Timothy Walmsley, who are studying a Bachelor of Engineering with honours degree.

The Energy Education Trust, which evolved from an education trust established by Fletcher Energy Limited, is a charitable organisation that aims to assist students who are embarking on fulltime study in disciplines relevant to New Zealand’s oil and gas industries such as science, engineering and economics.