University of Waikato students receive Energy Education Trust Undergraduate Scholarships

5 July 2012

Dayne and Rene

Buzzing: University of Waikato students Dayne Addenbrooke (left) and Rene Engelbrecht are two of the recipients of the Energy Education Trust Undergraduate Scholarships.

Four University of Waikato students have been awarded Energy Education Trust Undergraduate Scholarships.

The recipients are Dayne Addenbrooke, Rene Engelbrecht, Ben Scarlett and Geoffery Wood, who were awarded $5000 each.

Energy Education Trust Undergraduate Scholarships aim to assist students undertaking full-time study in the fields of science, economics or engineering, with a specific interest in energy as it relates to the energy needs of New Zealand.

Easing financial concerns

Engineering students Dayne and Rene say the scholarship will help them focus on their studies, without having to be as concerned about their finances.

Rene, who is majoring in materials and process engineering, says the scholarship means she can put aside financial worries and work towards being accepted into the honours program next year. In the future she hopes to enter the energy sector focused on either petroleum or industrial energy efficiency.

Opening doors

“This scholarship opens the doors to a field that is very competitive. The recognition motivates and encourages not only the recipients, but those who wish to apply in future years,” says Rene.

All University of Waikato Bachelor of Engineering (BE) programmes have full Institute of Professional Engineers New Zealand (IPENZ) accreditation, which is recognised in 13 countries including Australia, the UK and the USA.

The university offers courses in Chemical & Biological Engineering, Electronic Engineering, Materials & Process Engineering, Mechanical Engineering and Software Engineering.

Latest stories