Ties strengthened with Indonesia

13 May 2014


Professor Soetjipto and Rt Hon Jim Bolger. Agreement signed:   Indonesia’s Airlangga University Vice Rector III Professor Soetjipto and University of Waikato Chancellor, Rt Hon Jim Bolger.

The University of Waikato has signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) with Airlangga University, one of Indonesia’s top tertiary institutions.

The MOU was signed on Monday during a visit to Indonesia by a multi-disciplinary delegation from the University of Waikato,  headed by Chancellor, the Rt Hon Jim Bolger, Vice-Chancellor Professor Roy Crawford, faculty deans Professor Roger Moltzen (Education), Professor Bradford Morse (Law), and Professor Geoffrey Holmes (Computing and Mathematical Sciences) and South East Asia International Market Manager Elle Freestone.

Airlangga University is based in Surabaya, Indonesia’s second largest city.

Following two days in Surabaya, the delegations heads to the capital, Jakarta, where it will visit secondary schools before hosting an event at the New Zealand Ambassador’s residence for alumni and friends to mark the University of Waikato’s 50th anniversary.

Latest stories