2018 Writer in Residence Therese Lloyd

21 November 2017

2018 Writer in Residence Therese Lloyd.

A journey that began with writing poetry at the age of five has taken Therese Lloyd to the University of Waikato as the 2018 Writer in Residence.

Since its inception in 1991 the programme has hosted some of New Zealand’s most prominent writers including Tessa Duder, Michael King and Maurice Shadbolt.

Therese's poems have appeared in print and online publications including Sport, Landfall, Metro, and the AUP series New Zealand Poets in Performance.  In 2006 she was awarded the Schaeffer Fellowship, allowing her to spend a year at the acclaimed Iowa Writers' Workshop. Her first full-length book of poetry, Other Animals, was published in 2013. She’s recently completed her PhD in creative writing, with her next collections of poems to be published in February.

Therese says residencies are fantastic opportunities for any writer, and she’s honored to be chosen. “I have heard great things about Waikato’s English programme and I’m looking forward to being a small part of that community for the year.”

She has two major projects she wants to work on during the residency, and says the challenge will be deciding which one wins out. “Secretly I’m hoping I can complete both. Having real time to write will be glorious.”

Acting Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences, Professor Allison Kirkman says she is thrilled to have attracted a Writer in Residence of Therese’s calibre. “I know that students and staff will benefit immensely from her creative presence on campus and her contribution to a vibrant literary culture. The Faculty has been exceedingly fortunate with the quality of the applications, and Therese was chosen from a very strong field.”

Therese takes up her residency in January.

Latest stories

Related stories

Scholarship recipient

Ashleigh Ngow receives Dr Andrew Smith Medal for Academic Excellence

Protecting the environment has always been important to Maketū-raised Ashleigh Ngow who completed the Bachelor…

Anthony Byrt

Anthony Byrt appointed University of Waikato’s 2023 Writer In Residence

The art critic and writer will spend the next 12 months working on three major…

The AIs are coming: Will ChatGPT create a future of bullsh*t (jobs)?

The Slovenian philosopher Slavoj Žižek is reportedly sanguine about the advent of deep learning AIs…

Madeleine Pierard

Inaugural recipients selected for Te Pae Kōkako

Six promising opera students have been selected for the University of Waikato’s immersive Master of…

Farewell to change maker, Dr David Nielson

The University of Waikato is mourning the passing of Dr David Neilson, a member of…

Art for Art’s Sake - and for the district of Waipā

University of Waikato Head of School, Te Kura Toi (School of Arts) Professor Gareth Schott…

University of Waikato researchers honoured at Royal Society Te Aprārangi awards

Two University of Waikato academics were honoured at the Royal Society Te Apārangi awards held…

Get involved and grow - message from global leadership forum

When the opportunity to take part in a Global Leadership forum presented itself to first…

Caws and claws: two new fiction books from Catherine Chidgey

University of Waikato academic and award-winning author Catherine Chidgey launched her seventh novel, The Axeman’s…

Aotearoa’s richest short story prize awarded

The art of the Kiwi short story is alive and well if entries to this…

Language revitalisation through international punk

A misspent youth spent in dive bars and playing in punk bands has been the…

State of Australasia Cities Conference comes to Aotearoa

For the first time in its 20-year history, the State of Australasia Cities Conference will…