New awards bestowed on Waikato

18 October 2018

Professor Linda Tuhiwai Smith.

Groundbreaking academics from the University of Waikato have been honored by the Royal Society Te Apārangi.

Four awards were presented to Waikato staff at the annual event held in Wellington last night. Three of them have been presented for the first time.

Professor Linda Tuhiwai Smith has received the inaugural Te Puāwaitangi Award in recognition of the eminent and distinctive contribution she has made to Te Ao Māori, and to Māori and Indigenous knowledge. Her citation highlights her trailblazing research in Indigenous methodologies and kaupapa Māori, which has contributed to the advancement of Māori research, education and society.

Deputy Vice-Chancellor Research, Professor Bruce Clarkson, says the award is fitting acknowledgement Professor Smith’s nationally and internationally recognised leadership in Maori and Indigenous Studies. “Her seminal publication Decolonizing Methodologies: Research and Indigenous Peoples (1999) was ahead of its time and it is interesting that many of the National Science Challenges are only now grappling with the issues it raised.  Several reprint editions were published before the most recent revised second edition in 2012.  This work alone would have placed her at the top of her field but she has continued to provide exemplary leadership, tirelessly championing Indigenous research and scholarship, is a sought after keynote speaker at international conferences, and has supervised more than 10 PhD students to completion.”

Dr Mohi Rua has received the Te Kōpūnui Māori Research Award for his innovative research on poverty, homelessness and Māori men's health which is challenging the relevance of mainstream Anglo-American psychology for Maōri and other indigenous peoples. This is another new award, and recognises innovative Māori research by promising early career researchers.

Associate Professor Holly Thorpe has received the Early Career Research Excellence Award for Social Sciences for her research on the sociology of sport that is redefining the use of sports for development and peace in conflict and disaster zones.

The team at Te Kotahi Research Institute has been given a new honour for their success in bringing together Māori providers, researchers and policy-makers to deliver maximum benefit to the communities they work with.  It is the Health Research Council’s Te Tohu Rapuora award, and presented as part of the Royal Society Te Apārangi event.

Members of Te Kotahi Research Institute.

Related stories

Researchers focussed on tackling the difficult environmental decisions

A team of University of Waikato researchers, led by Professor Iain White, have received $625,000…

New online survey launched on New Zealanders' mental health during lockdown

A new online survey from researchers at the University of Waikato’s School of Psychology asks…

Luke Moss

Desire to normalise te reo leads student to create his own clothing line

At first glance, Luke Moss would appear to be like any other university student. But…

Calling all short story writers in lockdown: Sargeson Prize open

New Zealand’s richest short story competition, the Sargeson Prize, is open for entries. Sponsored by…

Leading Professor heading up University’s School of Psychology

Noted developmental psychologist, Professor Vincent Reid, is heading up the University of Waikato’s School of…

Caring for 300,000 temporary migrants in New Zealand is a crucial missing link in our coronavirus response

More than one-in-16 people in New Zealand today – or more than 300,000 in total…

University lecturer receives Ordre des Palmes académiques from French government

Senior lecturer in French at the University of Waikato, William Jennings has been made a…

Housing crisis? What crisis? How politicians talk about housing and why it matters

Politicians in many countries around the world claim to be experiencing a “housing crisis”. But…

Student takes once-in-a-lifetime trip to Japan with JENESYS

A cultural exchange to Japan through the JENSEYS programme was a once in a lifetime…

Claudia Ashby and Kelly Petersen - Sir Edmund Hillary Medallists 2020.

Hillary Medalists announced for 2020

A former dentistry student who followed her passion for theatre and an elite endurance swimmer…

Debashish Munshi, Priya Kurian and Sandy Morrison

100% climate resilient?

New research asks how prepared is Aotearoa’s highly valuable tourism sector for the coming impacts…

Dr Kim Hébert-Losier

University of Waikato study puts Nike shoes under the spotlight

As World Athletics clarifies the rules on shoe technology in the face of the Nike…