Waikato Honorary Doctors get “Topp” Honour

5 June 2018

The Topp Twins at Graduation in October 2011.

The University of Waikato is proud to congratulate Jools and Lynda Topp (MNZM), better known as comedy duo the Topp Twins, who have been made Dames Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit in this year’s Queen’s Birthday Honours.

In 2011, the Topp Twins were awarded Honorary Doctorates from the University in recognition of their work tackling a wide range of social issues through music and comedy. Their unique form of performing art has captured and held on to audiences across the social spectrum, addressing issues including feminism, human rights, Māori Land Rights, homosexual law reform and nuclear-free New Zealand in a non-threatening but thought-provoking way.

Former University of Waikato Vice-Chancellor, the late Professor Roy Crawford said of the Topp Twins, “we like [them] because they’re not only entertainers, they have a social conscience. They worked out a long time ago that people will usually listen to a song before a speech. And they have a charming ability to send people up without pulling them down.”

The Queen’s Birthday Honours also included five Waikato alumni:

  • Ms Timua Te Puhi Kai Ariki Brennan (MMus 2004) was made an Officer of the New Zealand Order of Merit for services to Music and Māori Performing Arts
  • Mrs Tracey Anne Fear (GradDipMgtSt, 2000) was made an Officer of the New Zealand Order of Merit for services to netball
  • Dr Deborah Ann Challinor (PhD, 1999), who has also taught a paper “Writing Historical Fiction” at the University, was made a Member of the New Zealand Order of Merit for services to literature and historical research
  • Mrs Lesley Stanley (MSocSc, 1989) was made a Member of the New Zealand Order of Merit for services to education and the support of children
  • Dr Carolyn Rae Peters (MCouns, 2001) was awarded The Queen's Service Medal for services to the community

Congratulations to all our successful alumni on their outstanding achievement.

Related stories

Generous scholarships up for grabs at new Tauranga campus

The future looks bright for tertiary students opting to study in the Bay, thanks to…

University of Waikato’s rankings rise in Asia-Pacific

Continuing our strong performance in international rankings, the University of Waikato has risen to #65…

Scholarship to unlock secrets of climate change

Master of Science (Research) student Ingrid Lindeman was recently awarded the William Georgetti Scholarship to…

PhD student scores new scholarship to support elite rugby athletes

PhD student Conor McNeill may be specialising in fatigue monitoring in rugby union but there’ll…

Country’s most comprehensive study of breast cancer highlights inequities

Professor Ross Lawrenson and his team have spent three years looking at how to improve…

University of Waikato continues rise up QS World rankings

Outstanding research and international student recruitment drive University of Waikato higher in world rankings

Scholarship provides new opportunities for Waitaha students

Young people of the Waitaha iwi will have the opportunity to gain the ultimate all-round…

New research project set to invest $13 million in the Bay of Plenty

A new University of Waikato research project will bring together a world-class team of researchers…

From Waikato to leading the world in Artificial General Intelligence

Dr Shane Legg started out with a Dick Smith’s computer for his 10th birthday, now…

Scholar, dreamer, rabble-rouser - now Emeritus Professor

Dr Ngahuia Te Awekotuku was the first Māori woman to earn a PhD in Aotearoa,…

Cellist Matthias Balzat and sportswoman Stacey Waaka.

Sir Edmund Hillary Medal awardees announced

Cellist Matthias Balzat and and all-rounder Stacey Waaka given prestigious award.

University of Waikato’s pioneering joint institute opens in China.

The University of Waikato has opened its doors to students at the new joint institute…