Waikato sevens team wins National Tertiary Championships

5 February 2018

University of Waikato Women's Sevens team

While thousands of fans flocked to Hamilton to watch the New Zealand Sevens games last weekend, the University of Waikato Women’s Sevens rugby team were celebrating their own success – they won the University Tertiary and Sport New Zealand (UTSNZ) National Championships.

The annual championships saw Waikato, Canterbury, University, Victoria and AUT come together, all playing for the coveted gold medal and shield.

The University of Waikato played Canterbury in the finals, winning 19-14 at the sold-out FMG stadium. The home team got plenty of encouragement from the crowd – great motivation says Waikato player Leanna Ryan, the tournament’s top scorer.

“It was great to be in front of the home crowd. Last year in the finals we lost to Canterbury, so we were really determined to win this one.”

Leanna credits the win to the team’s coach, Honey Hireme, and the team’s ability to gel as a group.

“We had a great team, a great coach, and we work really well together!” says the Master of Applied Psychology student.

At the end of the tournament, NZ Rugby High Performance Sevens Talent ID selected the top 11 players from the whole tournament to be part of the 2018 tournament team. University of Waikato players made up nearly half the side. They were Rina Paraone, Kanyon Paul, Cheyelle Robins-Reti, Stacey Waaka and Leanna Ryan.

The University of Waikato will participate in nine more UTSNZ sports tournaments this year.

Latest stories

Related stories

Ally Wollaston with a gold medal at the UCI Nations Cup track competition in Jakarta.

Three golds for cyclist Ally Wollaston

University of Waikato law student and Hillary Scholar Ally Wollaston has returned to New Zealand…

Award-winning soprano and Waikato alumna is branching out into the world

With one of her recent achievements on home soil having been the runner up at…

Callum Saunders

Waikato athletes in Birmingham

Thirteen University of Waikato students and alumni will be competing in this year’s Commonwealth Games…

Bethany Angus

Lucrative scholarships support University of Waikato graduates overseas

Bethany Angus, Felicity Tomkins and Gracie Francis have been awarded the Kia Ora Foundation Patricia…

Former Hillary Scholar switches codes

From basketball to acting – University of Waikato alumnus Connor Johnston is using the skills…

Filipe Manu

Taking on the world stage

Sitting in his Swiss apartment, Tongan-New Zealand tenor and University of Waikato alumnus Filipe Manu…

Majenta Gaffar

Linking passion with education

From the moment young Majenta Gaffar got plopped in front of the telly by her…


2021 Hillary Medalists named

Two alumni, Courtney Richmond and Tim Neild, have been named as the 2021 Hillary Medalists…

Shaun Kirkham

Hard work and dedication a winning combo for alumnus and Olympian

Fresh from winning an Olympic Gold medal, Shaun Kirkham is using his experience as a…


From burnout to balance - prioritising wellbeing as an elite athlete

Sir Edmund Hillary Scholarship alumna and former Black Stick Brooke Neal is on a mission…

A passion for sports science: Dr Shannon O’Donnell

While the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games are playing out half a world away, a group…

Celebrating Waikato University’s Olympic connections

The University of Waikato is well-represented at the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games, which runs from…