University celebrates Queen's Birthday Honours recipients

2 June 2020

Professor Derek Lardelli receives an Honorary Doctorate from University of Waikato Vice-Chancellor Professor Neil Quigley

A University Council member, an author beloved by her young readers and the composer of a world-famous haka are among members of the University of Waikato community recognised in this year's Queen's Birthday Honours.

Staff, stakeholders, alumni and others with connections to the University of Waikato feature in this year’s list, and the University is proud to congratulate them on their achievement.

Professor Derek Lardelli
Derek Lardelli ONZM (Ngāti Porou, Rongowhakaata, Ngāti Konohi, Ngai Te Aweawe), widely known as the composer of Kapa o Pango for the All Blacks, has been made a Knight Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit for his services to Māori art. Derek was awarded an Honorary Doctorate from the University of Waikato in December 2019.

Ngareta Timutimu
University of Waikato Council member Ngareta Timutimu (Ngāi Te Rangi, Ngāti Ranginui) has been made a Member of the Order (MNZM) for services to Māori and education. Ngareta has been a member of the University of Waikato Council since 2016 and is the Chairperson of Te Rōpū Manukura.

University Council member Ngareta Timutimu

Tessa Duder
Tessa Duder OBE was made a Companion (CNZM) for services to literature. Tessa was awarded an Honorary Doctorate from the University of Waikato in 2008.

Anthony O'Brien
Dr Anthony O’Brien is an Associate Professor in Te Huataki Waiora School of Health who has been working on the development of our Nursing programme. He has been made an Officer (ONZM) for services to mental health nursing.

Turanga Hoturoa Barclay-Kerr
Former staff member and alumnus, Turanga Hoturoa Barclay-Kerr (Tainui), was made a Companion for services to Māori and heritage commemoration (MA, 2010). He was a Senior Tutor in Te Pua Wānanga ki te Ao, Faculty of Māori and Indigenous Studies, for 19 years.

Other University of Waikato alumni and friends recognised in the Queen’s Birthday Honours include:

Dame Companion (DNZM)
Dr Karen Poutasi, for services to education and the State. Karen is a friend of the University of Waikato; currently she is the Commissioner for the Waikato District Health Board and was previously the Chief Executive of the New Zealand Qualifications Authority (NZQA) for 14 years.

Distinguished Professor Marston Conder, for services to mathematics (BSocSc 1976, MSocSc 1978). Professor Conder was the recipient of a Distinguished Alumni Award from the University of Waikato in 2013.

Dr Beverley Milne, for services to education (PhD Education, 2013).
Lynette Te Aika, for services to Māori language education (MA, 1997).

Vice-Chancellor Professor Neil Quigley says it’s wonderful to see so many people who the University has close connections with recognised for their contributions.

“It’s particularly pleasing to see those we have already acknowledged with University awards also achieve recognition in this year’s Queen’s Birthday Honours”.

Latest stories