Waikato alumni recognised in the Queen’s Birthday Honours list

3 June 2020

Queens Honours 2020
Mr Hoturoa Barclay-Kerr and Dr Ann Milne

A world-leading mathematician, an advocate for Māori language education and a master voyager are just a few of the Waikato alumni who feature in this year's Queen’s Birthday Honours. 

Four alumni and several friends of the University have been recognised for their achievements.

Vice-Chancellor Professor Neil Quigley says it's wonderful to see so many people who the University has close connections with recognised for their contributions.

Former staff member and alumnus, Mr Turanga Hoturoa Barclay-Kerr (Tainui), was appointed a Companion  of the New Zealand Order of Merit for services to Māori and heritage commemoration.

Mr Barclay-Kerr has been heavily involved in the revival of traditional waka voyaging with more than 35 years sailing the Pacific Ocean as a master voyager.

He graduated in 2010 with a Master of Arts and was a Senior Tutor in Te Pua Wānanga ki te Ao, Faculty of Māori and Indigenous Studies, for 19 years.

More recently Mr Barclay-Kerr co-chaired the national co-ordinating committee for the Tuia 250 – Encounters programme which was a commemoration in 2019 marking 250 years since the first onshore encounters between Māori and Pākehā in 1769.

Experienced educator and researcher Dr Beverley Milne (Ann) has been appointed a Member of the New Zealand Order of Merit for services to education.

Dr Milne has championed innovative approaches to education for the past 45 years. She is a leader in educational innovation for Māori and Pasifika students and is the founder of Ann Milne Education.

Dr Milne completed her Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) at the University of Waikato in 2013, which focused on reclaiming cultural identity in schools.

Distinguished Professor Marston Conder and Lynne Harata Te Aika

World-leading mathematician Distinguished Professor Marston Conder has been appointed an Officer of the New Zealand Order of Merit for his services to mathematics.

Professor Conder graduated in 1978 with a Master in Social Sciences (First Class Honours). Today he is world-renowned for his knowledge on the symmetry of discrete objects, covering algebraic, combinational and computational techniques to make ground-breaking discoveries.

He has published more than 160 research articles in some of the world’s top-ranked academic journals and has been awarded several prestigious fellowships.

Professor Conder was the recipient of a Distinguished Alumni Award from the University of Waikato in 2013.

Lynette (Lynne) Harata Te Aika (Ngāi Tahu, Ngāti Awa) has been appointed a Member of the New Zealand Order of Merit for services to Māori language education.

Ms Te Aika is a tribal advocate, teacher and researcher for Māori learner success and has been working to strengthen the use of Te Reo and Ngāi Tahu tikanga throughout the South Island.

Ms Te Aika graduated with a Master of Arts, majoring in Māori and Education in 1997.

Vice-Chancellor Professor Neil Quigley says it is particularly pleasing to see those who have already been acknowledged with University awards achieve recognition in this year’s Queen’s Birthday Honours.

Two Waikato University honorary doctorate recipients were recognised. Dr Tessa Duder OBE was made a Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit for services to literature, while Professor Derek Lardelli ONZM (Ngāti Porou, Rongowhakaata, Ngāti Konohi, Ngai Te Aweawe) was appointed a Knight Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit for his services to Māori art.

Congratulations to all who have been recognised.

Latest stories

Related stories

Rhythm and resilience: A deputy principal’s inspiring journey to success

A talented dancer and performer, Caroline Gill has had a long history with the University…

Jackson Mason-Mackey

Alumnus making his mark on the world in the humanitarian sector

Not many people can say they’ve worked in Mozambique, Italy, Afghanistan and Colombia, but Jackson…

A group of people stand outside the Gallagher Academy of Performing Arts at the 50th anniversary celebrations for the School of Psychology postgraduate clinical and behavioural psychology diplomas.

Saving lives: Psychology programmes celebrate 50 years

More than 85 people gathered to celebrate the University of Waikato’s School of Psychology on…

Award-winning soprano and Waikato alumna is branching out into the world

With one of her recent achievements on home soil having been the runner up at…


Scholarship recipient loves learning about people

It takes a special person to receive two scholarships from the University of Waikato but…

Scholarship recipient

Ashleigh Ngow receives Dr Andrew Smith Medal for Academic Excellence

Protecting the environment has always been important to Maketū-raised Ashleigh Ngow who completed the Bachelor…

NY Honours 2023

2023 New Year Honours recognise eight Waikato alumni and former academics

University of Waikato alumni and both former and current academic staff have been named in…

90 000th celebrations

University of Waikato marks significant milestone with capping of 90,000th graduate

The past week has been one of celebration for the University of Waikato as it…


University launches Annual Appeal for 2022

The 2022 Annual Appeal is focused on supporting student scholarships, nursing graduates, and opera.

Strategic moooves: Management students advise Fonterra in 50th WMS Case Competition

The iconic 50th Waikato Management School Case Competition held on 19 October saw four finalist…

Alumni Scholarship winners

Scholarship draws alumnae back to study at Waikato

Being awarded the alumni scholarship helped solidified alumnae Jessica Harvey and Tiari Killeen-Townsen decision to…

Phillida Perry

Student leads Covid-19 documentary on our 'pink-haired scientist' - Dr Siouxsie Wiles

Bachelor of Arts student, Phillida Perry, co-produced Ms. Information, a 90-minute film that follows Dr…