Young women in STEM get head-start at Waikato

6 April 2020

Edna Waddell scholars
University of Waikato Edna Waddell scholars (pictured) are all studying towards a Bachelor of Engineering with Honours in various programmes. From left to right – Zoe Chaves, Kate Edwards, Zarah Otto, Professor Janis Swan, Lydia Gilmour and Kaitlin Te Rito.

Two University of Waikato engineering students have been given a head-start to their studies this year, thanks to the Edna Waddell Undergraduate Scholarships for Women in Technology and Engineering.

This scholarship, worth $5000, is given to women across the country entering their first year of full-time study in a four-year professional engineering or food technology degree at a New Zealand university.

Professor Janis Swan from Waikato University’s School of Engineering says, despite heavy competition, Waikato managed to secure two of the four scholarships offered in 2020.

“It’s exciting to have a higher proportion of scholars this year, which will only increase the number of women in STEM subjects at Waikato.”

The two new scholars, Zoe Chaves and Zarah Otto, are now two of five current Edna Waddell scholars at Waikato. The other three are third-year students Kate Edwards and Lydia Gilmour, and fourth-year student Kaitlin Te Rito. All five students are studying towards a Bachelor of Engineering with Honours in various programmes.

The Edna Waddell Undergraduate Scholarships for Women in Technology and Engineering are open to school leavers, and mature women who have not previously studied technology and engineering at tertiary level.

Waikato engineering graduates, Emily Sopers and Morgan Fahey, were also former recipients of the scholarship and are now working at Beca – one of Asia Pacific’s largest independent advisory, design and engineering consultancies.

Professor Swan says the money for these scholarships comes from funding supplied by Dick and Mary Earle, both retired professors from Massey University’s technology faculty. They also fund the Dick and Mary Technology scholarship for postgraduate study, and the Earle Travel Fellowship in Technology.

“Dick and Mary taught me when I did my first degree, and Dick supervised my masters,” she says.

The Edna Waddell scholarships close on 1 September, and up to five scholarships are awarded annually across New Zealand. Information on all three scholarships is available from the University’s scholarships webpage and the Universities New Zealand website.

Latest stories

Related stories

Raukokore Marine Research

Waikato supports Raukōkore Marine Research Centre opening

The Raukōkore Marine Research Centre has officially opened, providing a crucial research base for the…

Dr Jason Mika

Significant funding boost for University of Waikato research

The University of Waikato has achieved significant results in the latest funding round from the…

Scholarship recipient honours cherished former staff member

Third year Bachelor of Business and Bachelor of Science student, Petra Guy, is the inaugural…

3MT group photo 2023

Captive kiwi management researcher takes out tight competition

Te Aka Mātuatua School of Science animal behaviour researcher Rebecca Connor won the University's 3…

Professor Chris Battershill

Renowned scientist honoured for dedication to marine conservation

World-renowned marine scientist Professor Chris Battershill has been honoured for his significant contributions to marine…

New building

High-tech engineering lab opens at Waikato

Students at the University of Waikato have better access to state-of-the-art learning tools with the…

Images of Dr Joel Rindelaub and Dr Benjamin Dickson from the University of Waikato

Curing cancer, clearing the air and changing the world: two senior chemistry lecturers move to Waikato

The University of Waikato has appointed two new senior chemistry lecturers to Te Aka Mātuatua…

Scholarship supports two worthy women in technology

The inaugural Endace Women in Technology Scholarship has been awarded to two University of Waikato…

Assistant Vice-Chancellor Sustainability Professor Lynda Johnston

Waikato ranks in top 100 of universities globally

The University of Waikato has been recognised in the top 100 of educational institutions worldwide…

HEBUST programme staff and students

University of Waikato’s engineering programme in China recognised as an award-winning collaboration

The University of Waikato’s undergraduate cooperative engineering programme at the Hebei University of Science and…

NZ industry burns the equivalent of 108 litres of petrol every second – that has to reduce to meet our carbon targets

Industry needs vast quantities of heat for a wide range of activities. But it’s very…

Nathan Bailey, inaugural recipient of the Tauranga Moana Futures Scholarship

Scholarship enables inaugural recipient to contribute to the redevelopment of Tauranga City

University of Waikato first-year Bachelor of Engineering student Nathan Bailey is the inaugural recipient of…