Waikato researchers recognised as Royal Society Te Apārangi Fellows

21 March 2022

Tahu Kukutai and Margaret Carr
Professor Tahu Kukutai and Emeritus Professor Margaret Carr have been elected Fellows to the Academy of the Royal Society Te Apārangi.

Two University of Waikato Professors have been named Fellows to the Academy of the Royal Society Te Apārangi acknowledging the impact of their research at both a national and international scale.

Professor Tahu Kukutai from Te Ngira: Institute for Population Research, and Emeritus Professor Margaret Carr (ONZM) have been named Ngā Ahurei hou a Te Apārangi, to the Academy of the Royal Society Te Apārangi.  The honour recognises researchers at the top of their international fields in mātauranga Māori, humanities, technology, and science.

Professor Kukutai (Ngāti Tiipa, Ngāti Māhanga, Ngāti Kinohaku, Te Aupōuri) is recognised for her significant contribution to research on Māori demography and Indigenous data sovereignty and the international impact of her work on state practices of ethnic and racial classification and census taking.

The impact of her work is also demonstrated by its uptake among iwi, Māori organisations, and Government agencies including Statistics New Zealand, the Ministry of Social Development, Te Puni Kōkiri, and the former Social Policy Evaluation and Research Unit.

Her appointment speaks to the importance of research at the interface of population science and mātauranga Māori, and the leading role that Te Ngira (formerly the National Institute of Demographic and Economic Analysis) plays within that.

Emeritus Professor Carr’s appointment acknowledges the immense impact her work has had on early childhood education in both Aotearoa New Zealand and internationally.

Professor Carr was one of four lead coordinators and writers, alongside Sir Tamati Reedy, Tilly Reedy, and Helen May of the 1996 bicultural and sociocultural curriculum, Te Whāriki. During her career Professor Carr also completed seven Teaching and Learning Research Initiative projects and two Marsden Fund projects.

Chair of the Academy Executive Committee Professor Charlotte Macdonald FRSNZ says it was pleasing to see an outstanding cohort of Fellows elected this year, all with exceptional expertise.

“Ngā Ahurei Hou a Te Apārangi the newly elected fellows have made exceptional contributions to knowledge in their fields and across disciplinary boundaries. Their election adds to the depth of knowledge held within the Academy; they will help support the purpose of Royal Society Te Apārangi to engage with New Zealanders on topics important to all and to recognise outstanding researchers working in Aotearoa.”

Latest stories

Related stories

Rapid response to protect penguins from bird flu

Professor Craig Cary wasn’t planning to spend part of his 2022/23 Antarctic deployment trekking around…

Bouncing unborn baby research between time zones secret to success

Bouncing work back and forth between time zones has allowed research into fetal development to…

Oceanography researcher recognised for making waves around the world

With a sea captain for a grandfather and childhood summers spent around the sea, it’s…

Waikato alumnus awarded prestigious University Medal.

The University of Waikato has awarded its prestigious University of Waikato Medal to alumnus Rob…

An ocean of possibilities in marine research at University of Waikato

Researchers at the University of Waikato are turning to the ocean to clean up our…

Jasmine Campbell

Exchange students fly high in Denmark and Singapore

While most of us were on summer holiday, a group of third-year University of Waikato…

Waikato researchers at the frontier of New Zealand’s high-tech robotics industry

Developing a high-tech robotics industry in New Zealand to grow and support a horticulture sector…

Algae to economics: academic promotions announced

The University of Waikato has announced its latest round of academic promotions.

Prime Minister’s Scholarship students getting ready to fly

While most of us are winding down to a relaxing holiday season, a number of…

University of Waikato researchers shape the future of Artificial Intelligence in New Zealand

University of Waikato researchers are using artificial intelligence (AI) and machine learning to tackle problems…

Nicola Daly

New children’s literature qualification launches

Are you inspired by Joy Cowley, Gavin Bishop, Selina Tusitala Marsh or Margaret Mahy?

Fieldays e-Bin

Making fruit picking easy with the e-Bin

The University of Waikato has developed an electronic fruit bin that assists in the harvesting…