Waikato shines bright in a sea of stars at science awards

15 September 2022

The Kudos Lifetime Achievement Award recipient Professor Alan Hogg

University of Waikato scientists and researchers shone brightly in a stellar showcase of science talent at last night’s Kudos Awards.

The awards, established in 2007 by the Kudos Science Trust, recognise the achievements of our region's top scientists and aim to excite young people about science and its career opportunities and raise the profile of science within our community.

University of Waikato scientists and researchers were honoured to be acknowledged among their peers, winning five main awards and a lifetime achievement award for Professor Alan Hogg.

University of Waikato Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Research, Bryony James says the recognition for our top scientists is humbling.

"We are so fortunate to be located in this region where the pursuit of knowledge is celebrated with the passion that the Kudos Trust brings to all it does," says Professor James.

“Watching our researchers get recognised with these nominations and awards is hugely gratifying.” Professor James says the event, which had been postponed a number of times due to Covid, was well worth waiting for.

"We are very proud of all our finalists and winners, and wish to thank the Trust for all the work it does to promote science and get our young scientists excited about the future."

The full list of winners:

The Kudos Lifetime Achievement Award

Professor Alan Hogg

Hamilton City Council Emerging Scientist Award

Winner:  Dr Megan Grainger

Also finalists: Dr Terry Issons, Dr Anica Klockars

Datamars Engineering Science Award

Winner:  Dr Shen Hin Lim

Also finalist:  Dr Leandro Bolzoni

Waikato Regional Council Environmental Science Award

Winner:  Dr Charles Lee

Also finalist:  Prof. Kura Paul-Burke

Te Whatu Ora Waikato Medical Science Award

Winner:  Assoc. Prof. Bridgette Masters- Awatere

University of Waikato Vision Mātauranga Science Award

Winner:  Prof. Kura Paul-Burke

Also finalist:  Assoc. Prof. Bridgette Masters-Awatere

Congratulations also go to:
  • Mrs Chris Duggan ( House of Science) for receiving the Wintec Secondary Science Teacher/Educator Award
  • Scion/Agrisea Nanocellulose from Seaweed Team for receiving the Hill Laboratories Primary Industries Award
The Kudos Lifetime Achievement Award recipient Professor Alan Hogg
Hamilton City Council Emerging Scientist Award winner Dr Megan Grainger
Datamars Engineering Science Award winner Dr Shen Hin Lim
Waikato Regional Council Environmental Science Award winner Dr Charles Lee
Te Whatu Ora Waikato Medical Science Award winner Assoc. Prof. Bridgette Masters- Awatere

Latest stories

Related stories

Algae to economics: academic promotions announced

The University of Waikato has announced its latest round of academic promotions.

University set to host international epicentre of activity for volcanologists

Hundreds of volcanologists and earth scientists from around the world meet in Rotorua for the…

New app allows easy identification of all NZ plants, animals and fungi

Imagine being able to readily identify every plant and bird in your garden, on a…

Avoiding climate breakdown depends on protecting Earth’s biodiversity – can the COP15 summit deliver?

Thousands of delegates have gathered in Montreal, Canada, for a once-in-a-decade chance to address the…

Kiwifruit E-BIN a winner for Waikato

The University of Waikato’s electronic Kiwifruit Human Assisted Harvesting (e-BIN) that simplifies harvesting of kiwifruit…

Studying the sex lives of spiders

A Marsden Fast Start grant will allow University of Waikato behavioural ecologist and senior lecturer…

New Tauranga scholarships look to the future

Two new scholarships for first year engineering and environmental science students in Tauranga aim to…


The future is female: New women in tech scholarship launched

A new scholarship set to support women in computer science and software engineering has been…

Rutherford Discovery Fellowship to understand why Earth is habitable

The goal of understanding the deep history of carbon cycling on Earth and how -…

ChemQuest 2022 goes to St John's College

Students from St John’s College took out the 25th annual ChemQuest prize, held at the…

International collaboration aims to put scientists ahead of coronavirus

University of Waikato researcher Dr William Kelton has been working with international partners to prepare…

Seven scholarships announced on Kīngitanga Day support rangatahi and the environment

Seven University of Waikato undergraduate students have been awarded the Te Arikinui Dame Te Atairangikaahu…