2023 New Year Honours recognise eight Waikato alumni and former academics

10 January 2023

NY Honours 2023
Professor Bruce Clarkson, Beryl Te Haumihiata Mason, Pānia Papa, Dr Heather Came-Friar, Ruth Gerzon, Penelope Jackson, Marilyn Kohlhase and Reweti Ropiha.

University of Waikato alumni and both former and current academic staff have been named in the 2023 New Year’s Honours list recognising their outstanding services.

New Zealand Order of Merit (ONZM)

Professor Bruce Clarkson ONZM, for services to ecological restoration. Professor Clarkson is one of New Zealand’s foremost authorities on ecological restoration. He has made significant contributions to conservation through research, education, protection, and restoration of native plants and ecosystems over a 40-year career.

Beryl Te Haumihiata Mason, ONZM for services to Māori language education. Ms Mason (Tūhoe, Te Arawa, Ngāti Pango) is a renowned translator, and a writer of He Pātaka Kupu - the first monolingual Māori dictionary. She was instrumental in the re-translation of the Māori Language Act 1987 and has just finished Te Rātaka a Tētahi Kōhine, a translation of Anne Frank – The Diary of a Young Girl. Ms Mason was a lecturer with the Faculty of Māori and Indigenous Studies for six years after graduating.

Pānia Papa, ONZM for services to Māori language education and broadcasting. Ms Papa (Ngāti Korokī-Kahukura, Ngāti Mahuta) is an award-winning television presenter, Māori language consultant, curriculum and resource designer, translator, and editor for the broadcasting industry and education sector. She lectured in Māori Studies at the University of Waikato for ten years.

Members of the New Zealand Order of Merit (MNZM)

Dr Heather Came-Friar, MNZM for services to Māori, education and health. Dr Came-Friar has advocated for social and racial justice and Te Tiriti o Waitangi recognition throughout her professional career. She founded STIR: Stop Institutional Racism in 2013, and has been involved in the Pākehā Tiriti workers movement and chaired the Parliamentary Review of the National Cervical Screening Programme. Dr Came-Friar graduated with a PhD from the Waikato Management School in 2012.

Ruth Gerzon, MNZM for services to community development and social justice. Since graduating with a Bachelor of Social Sciences in 1971, Ms Gerzon has worked to promote community development, inclusion and social justice. She has been involved in educating communities on Te Tiriti o Waitangi, challenged racism in government agencies, worked to reduce the stigma surrounding mental illness and set up a programme to promote inclusion for disabled people.

Penelope Jackson, MNZM for services to art crime research and visual arts. Ms Jackson has pioneered research and development of scholarship about art crime in New Zealand. She was the founding Trustee of the New Zealand Art Crime Research Trust, has published several books about art crime and was the Director and Curator of the Tauranga Art Gallery. She graduated with a Bachelor of Arts (Hons) in 2002.

Marilyn Kohlhase, MNZM for services to Pacific arts and education. Ms Kohlhase is an arts curator and administrator, specialising in Pacific Islands art for nearly 50 years. She has been on several boards including Creative New Zealand Arts Board. She graduated with a Bachelor of Social Sciences in 1974.

Reweti Ropiha, MNZM for services to Māori health. Mr Ropiha (Rongowhakaata, Ngāi Tāmanuhiri) has been the CEO of Tūranga Health for 15 years and has transformed the organisation from a whānau client list of 10 to more than 3,000 today, continuing to provide health and wellbeing care to Māori throughout Gisborne. He provides governance support for a number of entities encompassing iwi development, primary healthcare establishment and philanthropic endeavours. He graduated with an MBA in 2011.

Latest stories

Related stories

Three generations of Dr Ritchies

Pioneering Psychology Professor leaves peaceful parenting legacy

The University of Waikato sadly acknowledges the passing of Emeritus Professor Jane Ritchie OBE, at…

Graduates at Te Kohinga Mārama Marae on Monday.

A week of celebration for Waikato graduates

It’s graduation week at the University of Waikato – and that means four days of…

Rhythm and resilience: A deputy principal’s inspiring journey to success

A talented dancer and performer, Caroline Gill has had a long history with the University…

Jackson Mason-Mackey

Alumnus making his mark on the world in the humanitarian sector

Not many people can say they’ve worked in Mozambique, Italy, Afghanistan and Colombia, but Jackson…

A group of people stand outside the Gallagher Academy of Performing Arts at the 50th anniversary celebrations for the School of Psychology postgraduate clinical and behavioural psychology diplomas.

Saving lives: Psychology programmes celebrate 50 years

More than 85 people gathered to celebrate the University of Waikato’s School of Psychology on…

Award-winning soprano and Waikato alumna is branching out into the world

With one of her recent achievements on home soil having been the runner up at…


Scholarship recipient loves learning about people

It takes a special person to receive two scholarships from the University of Waikato but…

Scholarship recipient

Ashleigh Ngow receives Dr Andrew Smith Medal for Academic Excellence

Protecting the environment has always been important to Maketū-raised Ashleigh Ngow who completed the Bachelor…

90 000th celebrations

University of Waikato marks significant milestone with capping of 90,000th graduate

The past week has been one of celebration for the University of Waikato as it…


University launches Annual Appeal for 2022

The 2022 Annual Appeal is focused on supporting student scholarships, nursing graduates, and opera.

Strategic moooves: Management students advise Fonterra in 50th WMS Case Competition

The iconic 50th Waikato Management School Case Competition held on 19 October saw four finalist…

Alumni Scholarship winners

Scholarship draws alumnae back to study at Waikato

Being awarded the alumni scholarship helped solidified alumnae Jessica Harvey and Tiari Killeen-Townsen decision to…