University of Waikato’s engineering programme in China recognised as an award-winning collaboration

22 May 2023

HEBUST programme staff and students
Some of the staff and students of the HEBUST joint undergraduate engineering programme at the University of Waikato's Hamilton campus.

The University of Waikato’s undergraduate cooperative engineering programme at the Hebei University of Science and Technology (HEBUST) has been awarded the title of Exemplary Cooperative Education Programme in the Hebei Province, China. Only programmes in the top 15% are awarded this title.

Associate Professor Fei Yang at the University of Waikato’s School of Engineering says that he was pleased to hear the news, saying that the award recognises the successful partnership the two universities have enjoyed over the last eight years.

“I was delighted to hear the news and to see the success of the programme recognised. This is a testament to the collaborative efforts of staff across the International Office, School of Engineering, and of course, colleagues from Hebei University of Science and Technology.”

The joint initiative was the only undergraduate cooperative education programme in the Hebei Province to be awarded this title, meeting the following award criteria:

  • Producing at least one successful cohort of graduates.
  • Passing the evaluation conducted by the local Ministry of Education.
  • Incorporating excellent resources, good governance, recruiting top-tier students, and maintaining a strong teaching staff.
  • Demonstrating a significant impact and influence regionally and internationally.

Professor Yang says the programme offers the opportunity for students to receive an international qualification and a successful pathway into higher education and research.

Professor LI Tiejun, President of Hebei University of Science and Technology, in expressing his thanks, acknowledged the solid foundation of collaboration that the two universities had established.

“The tremendous support provided by the University of Waikato to HEBUST on the internationalised education collaboration and the Joint Programme in Metallic Science and Engineering is highly appreciated. The Award of Exemplary Joint Programme of Hebei Province we received recently demonstrated the strong commitment and great collaboration between the two universities.

“Over the years, representatives from the University of Waikato have been very supportive of the programme, ensuring that the programme is delivered at a high standard. I would like to express our sincere gratitude to all the leaders and staff for your contribution to the joint programme between the two universities.”

About the HEBUST programme

The programme at HEBUST welcomed its first cohort of students in 2015. The University of Waikato contributes to undergraduate Engineering programme delivery. Students can transfer to the University of Waikato and complete 180 points under BSc to gain a degree from both institutions. Currently, approximately 350 students across four cohorts are enrolled in the programme in Hebei.

Latest stories

Related stories

Dr Rebecca Lawton Rutherford Discovery Fellow

Prestigious Rutherford Discovery Fellowship awarded to Dr Rebecca Lawton for marine kelp research

Dr Rebecca Lawton, Senior Lecturer in Marine Science and Aquaculture at the University of Waikato…

Image of the exterior of Waikato Management School

New Zealand's first fintech degree to fill critical skills gap

The University of Waikato has introduced New Zealand's first Bachelor of Banking, Finance & Technology…

Raukokore Marine Research

Waikato supports Raukōkore Marine Research Centre opening

The Raukōkore Marine Research Centre has officially opened, providing a crucial research base for the…

Dr Jason Mika

Significant funding boost for University of Waikato research

The University of Waikato has achieved significant results in the latest funding round from the…

Scholarship recipient honours cherished former staff member

Third year Bachelor of Business and Bachelor of Science student, Petra Guy, is the inaugural…

3MT group photo 2023

Captive kiwi management researcher takes out tight competition

Te Aka Mātuatua School of Science animal behaviour researcher Rebecca Connor won the University's 3…

Professor Chris Battershill

Renowned scientist honoured for dedication to marine conservation

World-renowned marine scientist Professor Chris Battershill has been honoured for his significant contributions to marine…

Leilani Tuala-Warren and Unaisi Narawa

Double appointment at Waikato a “landmark moment” for New Zealand as a Pacific nation

Two new appointments at the University of Waikato, including New Zealand's first Pacific woman to…

Images of Dr Joel Rindelaub and Dr Benjamin Dickson from the University of Waikato

Curing cancer, clearing the air and changing the world: two senior chemistry lecturers move to Waikato

The University of Waikato has appointed two new senior chemistry lecturers to Te Aka Mātuatua…

Image of Dr Chris Eames

How can we prepare young people to save the world when we haven’t?

Young people today are facing a future of complex environmental challenges. But a new framework…

Scholarship supports two worthy women in technology

The inaugural Endace Women in Technology Scholarship has been awarded to two University of Waikato…

2023 TANZOS Talent

Waikato opera programme takes young New Zealand talent to the world stage

Six young singers are preparing to take the stage at the Sydney Opera House for…