3MT Doctoral Competition

3MT Logo

What is it?

The Three Minute Thesis (3MT®) is an academic competition developed by The University of Queensland (UQ), Australia for research students.

The 3MT competition is for higher degree research candidates enrolled in the PhD, EdD, SJD and DHSc programmes. The competition challenges candidates to present a compelling oration on their thesis and its significance in just three minutes in language appropriate to an intelligent but non-specialist audience. This presentation should address the following questions:

  • What are you researching?
  • Why are you researching this topic?
  • What are the values or outcomes of your research?

Through this competition, candidates will gain valuable experience in discussing and communicating effectively to a wide variety of audiences, both academic and non-academic, including the wider community.
3MT is not an exercise in trivialising or 'dumbing-down' research but forces students to consolidate their ideas and crystallise their research discoveries.

When is it?

3MT Doctoral Finals

The University of Waikato 3MT Doctoral Final will be held on Wednesday 10 August 2022 from 5.30pm at the Gallagher Academy of Performing Arts, Hamilton.

Asia-Pacific 3MT Competition

The winner of the 3MT Doctoral Final will represent the University of Waikato at the 2022 Virtual Asia-Pacific 3MT Competition on Monday 26 September 2022 for the Asia-Pacific 3MT Semi-Finals online showcase and potentially, Wednesday 19 October 2022 for the Asia-Pacific 3MT Finals.

How does it work?

The candidate may only use one static PowerPoint slide and the presentation should be pitched at a non-specialist, but generally intelligent audience. Candidates have three minutes to captivate the audience and communicate their research. Each presentation will be judged by a mixed panel of academic and non-academic people looking at three areas of judging criteria; comprehension, engagement and communication.

Who is eligible to enter?

All currently enrolled University of Waikato candidates in a PhD, EdD, DMA, SJD or DHSc  programme who have reached Confirmed Enrolment (Part 2 EdD, SJD, DHSc), as well as those candidates whose thesis is under examination are eligible to enter. Candidates' must be currently enrolled during the heats and the Asia-Pacific 3MT final competition and are not eligible to enter if they are on suspension.  Graduates are not eligible to apply for this event.

3MT Doctoral Heats 2022 Results

7 finalist were announced on Thursday 07 July 2022 at the 3MT Doctoral Heats. The finalist will now attend the University of Waikato Doctoral Final which will be held on Wednesday 10 August 2022 from 5.30pm in the Gallagher Academy of Performing Arts.

The winner of the 3MT Doctoral Final will represent the University of Waikato at the 2022 Virtual Asia-Pacific 3MT Competition .


Finalists top row from left to right: Jiancheng Zheng, Kris Kramer-Walter, Lakshmi Muthe, Christopher Dunn

Finalist bottom row from left to right: Thomas Everth, Tanith Gordon, Kimberley Norman

NameSchoolPresentation Title
Jiancheng ZhengTe Kura Toi School of ArtsChinese diaspora, Media consumption, and Political engagement
Kris Kramer-WalterTe Aka Mātuatua School of ScienceHow good is your wood? Visualising starch storage in kiwifruit canes
Lakshmi MutheSchool of Engineering Smart and Sustainable Materials for 3D Printing
Christopher DunnSchool of Engineering Saving Surgeries: The End of Implants and Smartphones Going Flat Suddenly
Thomas Everth Te Kura Toi Tangata School of EducationEducation and the great Anthropocene deterritorialisation
Tanith GordonTe Kura Toi Tangata School of EducationChildren’s voices about their lived experiences of education spaces and learning while being homeless
Kimberley NormanTe Huataki Waiora School of HealthBarriers to Rural Health from Health Care Professional and Community Member Perspectives

Hear from the winners of the 2021 3MT Doctoral Final

Want to know more about the 3MT Doctoral competition? Find out from the winners of the 2021 competition – what was the experience like for them? We interviewed the winner, Isaac McIvor, along with runner-up Sana Oladi, highly commended So Hyun Park, and the People’s Choice winner Simon Connolly.