Wilf Malcolm Institute of Educational Research
Waikato Home Waikato Home  >  WMIER  >  News & Events  >  Our researchers wins NZARE awards Staff + Students Login |  - Logout

Our researchers win NZARE awards

Date / Time: 23 November 2016

Jayne White (right) a researcher at the Wilf Malcolm Institute of Educational Research is the inaugural winner of the Judith Duncan Award for her cutting edge work on theorising the ethics of infant and toddler pedagogy and developing approaches to professional practice that genuinely listen and respond to young children's perspectives.

This is the first year that the Judith Duncan Award for Early Childhood Research has been awarded and is given to a NZARE member who has made notable contributions to the field of early childhood education and care through the conduct of high-quality research.

Martin Thrupp (left) received the McKenzie Award for his significant contribution to educational research in the fields of policy and leadership and their impact on school outcomes and social justice.

A significant contribution for this award is interpreted as contributing to new knowledge and being an exemplary researcher in the education community in a chosen discipline.

Jeanette Clarkin-Phillips (far right) received the Sutton-Smith Doctoral Award for excellence in a doctoral thesis in education.The award honours Brian Sutton-Smith. Professor Sutton-Smith was awarded the first Education PhD in New Zealand in 1954.

WMIER congratulates the three FEDU staff members who were key recipients of these nationwide awards this week at the New Zealand Association for Research (NZARE) Conference in Wellington.

Submit Research

WMIER is the Research Institute of the Faculty of Education

Research Institute Scholarships

University of Waikato Research Institute scholarships: Applications are closed for 2015.