Regulations for the Degree of Master of Professional Writing (MPW)

  1. The Personal Programmes of Study Regulations apply in these regulations.


  1. Candidates for the Degree must have
    1. qualified for the award of a bachelors degree of the University of Waikato with at least a B grade average across the 300 level papers, or for a qualification considered by the Academic Board to be equivalent, or
    2. qualified for the award of a bachelors degree with Honours of the University of Waikato with at least second class honours (second division), or a Postgraduate Diploma with at least a B grade average, or for a qualification considered by the Academic Board to be equivalent, and
    3. satisfied the prerequisites for graduate study in the subject(s) being presented for the Degree at levels considered appropriate by the Academic Board.
  2. In exceptional circumstances, based on academic merit and relevant experience, candidates who do not meet the requirements of section 2 of these regulations may be considered for admission subject to the completion of any qualifying papers the Academic Board may prescribe which must be completed either prior to or concurrently.

Requirements for the Degree

  1. The normal minimum period of enrolment for completion of the Degree is one calendar year or one and a half academic years. The requirements of the Degree must be completed within four consecutive years of first enrolling for the Degree.
  2. Candidates must enrol in the Division of Arts, Law, Psychology and Social Sciences and follow an approved programme of study.
  3. Candidates must gain at least 180 points at 500 level or above.
  4. Candidates must complete WRITE546, at least 45 points from List A: Advanced Study, and any compulsory papers prescribed in the Professional Writing entry in the University of Waikato Catalogue of Papers.
  5. Candidates may take up to 60 points from outside the field of the Degree.
  6. If a candidate fails a paper or papers (worth not more than 30 points in total), they may repeat the paper or papers or take an alternative paper or papers with the same total points value on one occasion only. A candidate who fails a paper or papers worth more than 30 points in total will not be permitted to proceed with the Degree.

Examination of thesis (90 points and above)

  1. The University will appoint two examiners for the candidate's thesis; one examiner external to the University and active in the research field of the thesis; and one examiner internal to the University, with a good grounding in the research field, who is not directly connected to the candidate, or the candidate's thesis research or supervision.

Award of Honours

  1. The Degree may be awarded with
    1. First Class Honours, or
    2. Second Class Honours (first division), or
    3. Second Class Honours (second division), or

or without honours.

  1. Except with the approval of the Academic Board, the level of honours will be calculated on the basis of the grades for all of the papers completed for the Degree.


  1. The Pro Vice-Chancellor of the Division or delegated authority may vary or waive these regulations in individual cases.


  1. Candidates who are ineligible to continue with the Degree may be eligible to graduate with a Postgraduate Certificate or Postgraduate Diploma.

List A: Advanced Study

LEGAL512 Advanced Media Law
LEGAL520 Intellectual Property Law and Policy
WRITE593 Professional Writing Thesis
WRITE594 Professional Writing Thesis