Te Piringa – Faculty of Law at the University of Waikato has an established tradition of outstanding scholarship in Public Law and Policy as demonstrated by the contributions of the Faculty’s founding Dean, Professor Margaret Wilson, and Professor Sir Grant Hammond. Today a significant number of Faculty members continue to have research interests in these fields focused on the Faculty’s founding principles of professionalism, biculturalism, and the study of law in context. Current work in the Faculty covers a wide range of common law jurisdictions, in addition to New Zealand and Pacific Island states, and extends from constitutional and administrative law and theory to giving effect to the principles of the Treaty of Waitangi and Māori and Indigenous governance. The Public Law & Policy Research Unit promotes the widest conception of Public Law and Policy, encompassing administrative law, charity and the regulation of civil society, constitutional law, criminal law and justice, and international law. It was established to fill a clear gap in the interrogation of these policy research areas in an integrated and holistic way.

For more information visit the Waikato Public Law and Policy Research Unit.