Music Programme

[E] [email protected]
[T] +64 7 838 4380
[R] I1.06
I Block, 1st Floor

Postal Address:
Music Programme
School of Arts
The University of Waikato
Private Bag 3105
Hamilton 3240

Academic Staff

Katherine Austin
Senior Lecturer in Piano
Concert Coordinator
Undergraduate and International Student Adviser

Dr Rachael Griffiths-Hughes
Lecturer in Musicianship, Music History, Choral and Baroque Music, Undergraduate Advisor

Lara Hall
Lecturer in Violin

Professor Martin Lodge
Convenor of Music

James Tennant
Senior Lecturer in Cello
Head of Performance, Chamber Music and Orchestra
AUG Representative

Dr Michael Williams
Senior Lecturer in Composition, Music and Technology, Orchestration, Harmony and Counterpoint. Graduate Advisor

Professional Staff

Mr Francis Cowan
Piano Accompanist

Music Teaching Staff

Luca Manghi - Flute Teacher
Gina Sanders - Voice Teacher
James Harrison – Voice Teacher

Research Associates

William Dart - New Zealand Music, Music criticism
David Dolan - Creative performance and classical improvisation
William Dowdall - Flute Performance
Kenneth Fields - Telemusic
Wayne Laird - Music Production
Richard Nunns - Taonga Pūoro
Gao Ping - Cross-Cultural Composition and Performance
Glenn Riddle - Piano pedagogy and performance
Bryan Sayer - Piano Performance, Musical Style and Interpretation and French Music
Param Vir - Composition, Orchestral Music and Opera
Dave Whitehead - Sound Design and Composition

Sometime Lecturer in Māori Music

Dr Hirini Melbourne (1949-2003), ONZM, Ngāi Tūhoe and Ngāti Kahungunu

Sometime Emeritus Professor

Marshall Walker (1938-2014) - Literature and Music