Welcome from the Pro Vice-Chancellor

Te Wānanga o Ngā Kete the Division of Arts, Law, Psychology and Social Sciences is one of the larger Divisions within the University and is arguably the most diverse. It is made up of three Schools, two Institutes and one Faculty: Te Kura Toi the School of Arts, Te Kura Aronui the School of Social Sciences   and Te Kura Whatu Oho Mauri the School of Psychology, Te Piringa Faculty of Law, Te Runanaga Tatari Tatauranga the National Institute of Demographic and Economic Analysis (NIDEA) and Te Puna Haumara the New Zealand Institute of Security and Crime Science (NZISCS).  Across the Division we offer over 30 subjects and have more than 140 academic staff members. Our research portfolio is recognised nationally and internationally, which reflects the quality of our academic staff.

The Division was created in 2019 by merging the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences and Te Piringa Faculty of Law, which were parts of the initial structure of the University when it fully opened for business in 1966.  The School of Social Sciences was the first of its kind in New Zealand.

The rich and varied nature of our student body is matched by an exciting range of talented academic staff, including many with international origins or qualifications. The Division is situated in the heart of the campus, being close to the new Student Centre, the Village Green and the Recreation Centre.

We offer an enviable list of subjects and a range of qualifications. These include Bachelors degrees, Graduate Certificates and Diplomas, Postgraduate Certificates and Diplomas, Honours and Masters degrees, through to Doctoral degrees.

The Division places emphasis on offering a comprehensive range of subjects, including some that are clearly career linked, and others that can be combined in unique ways to foster students’ intellectual and employment aspirations.

Patrick Leman

Professor Patrick Leman
Te Wānanga o Ngā Kete Division of Arts, Law, Psychology and Social Sciences