Awards and Prizes

Dean's Academic Excellence Awards

The Dean’s List of Academic Excellence was established in 2011 by Professor Daniel Zirker to recognise the students who choose to excel in their studies within the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences.

Each year the Dean presents awards to the Faculty’s undergraduate and graduate students, who have a Grade Point Average of no less than 8 across the entire year of their studies, in recognition of their academic achievements. The Dean’s Academic Excellence Award is a significant award and FASS would like to congratulate recipients for all their hard work and determination.

2016 Dean's List of Academic Excellence - Undergraduates
2015 Dean's List of Academic Excellence - Undergraduates
2014 Dean's List of Academic Excellence - Undergraduates
2013 Dean's List of Academic Excellence - Undergraduates
2013 Dean's List of Academic Excellence - Postgraduates
2012 Dean's List of Academic Excellence - Undergraduates
2012 Dean's List of Academic Excellence - Postgraduates  
2011 Dean's List of Academic Excellence - Undergraduates
2011 Dean's List of Academic Excellence - Postgraduates

FASSGRAD Best Paper Awards

The Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences holds a two day Graduate and Postgraduate conference each year. The conference is very successful and audiences are treated to a range of engaging and interesting papers presented by students working at different levels and stages of progress towards higher degrees.

Each year the Faculty awards two of the presenters, one for each day of the conference, a $500 prize for best paper.

In 2017 the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences introduced a new award - The Rangahau Maori Award. This award endeavors to profile and celebrate Kaupapa Maori Research and is valued at $500.

in 2017 the FASSGRAD Best Paper Awards were given to:

  • Rangahau Maori Award 2017
    Jacinta Forte -  for her paper: Kaitiakitanga ke te toheroa: Guardianship of New Zealand Shellfish
  • Best Paper Day 1
    Chelsea Bowden - for her paper: Transgendering Binairies: Gender Expression and Identity in Laurie Frankel's This is How it Always Was
  • Best Paper Day 2:
    Kimberley Jackson - for her paper: "The Milk of Human Kindness?' The Birth and Re-Birth of Free School Milk in Aotearoa New Zealand

    Honorable mention to the following presenters for gaining highly commended: Alex Lodge, Sunita Basnet, Moses Simpson and Calumn Fitzpatrick

Faculty Honours and Masters Awards

The Faculty offers up to 20 Masters Thesis Awards and up to 40 Honours & Postgraduate Diploma Awards each year.

Congratulations to our 2015 B Semester Recipients

Honours & Postgraduate Diploma Awards

Matthew Read, PGDip, Environmental Planning
Jessie Brockelsby, PGDip, Psychology
Blaire White, BMus(Hons), Music, Performance Voice
Tokiko Taylor, MAppPsy, Behaviour Analysis
Wing Yew Cheong, PGDip, Organisational Psychology
Jessica Fredriksen, PGDip, Psychology
Madeleine Stapleton, BSocSc(Hons) Psychology
Hayley Butterworth, BSocSc(Hons) Psychology
Stephanie Howser, BSocSc(Hons) Anthropology
Heather Perry, BA (Hons), Psychology
Loren Thomas, BA (Hons), English
Braden Bryant, MA, Linguistics, French
Helen Heta, PGDip, Clinical Psychology
Jingyue Li, MMCT, Screen and Media Studies
Jing Gao, MMCT, Creative Technologies
Craig Gilliver, BMCT (Hons), Creative Technologies

Masters Awards
Jennifer Wan, MAppPsy, Applied Behaviour Analysis
Melody Wilkinson, MA, English
Jean Schwartz, MA, Applied Linguistics
Melissa Janson, MAppPsy, Applied Behaviour Analysis
Nasalifya Namwinga, MAppPsy, Community Psychology
Anna Hill, MSocSc, Psychology
Arianna Waller, MSocSc, Sociology
Julianna Brown, MAppPsy, Community Psychology
Angus Elkington, MSocSc, Psychology
Steph Bremner, MSocSc, Psychology
Satvir Singh, MSocSc, Psychology

Faculty Hillary Scholars

Inspiring excellence, all round development and leadership

The Sir Edmund Hillary Scholarship Programme educates future leaders at the University of Waikato within the values of New Zealand’s greatest adventurer, Sir Edmund Hillary. We are all inspired by the view that “Together, we believe the impossible is a summit to be conquered”.

Sir Edmund Hillary Scholars must excel in academia, leadership and sports or creative and performing arts. Various professional development opportunities and fees support are provided for Scholars.

The Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences has a number of Hillary Scholars currently studying our qualifications, and many Alumni Hillary Scholars who have gone on to great things.