Scholarships and Funding

Calculating the means by which you will finance your graduate study is one of the most important steps when planning your graduate or postgraduate study. It's crucial that you determine how much studying will cost you, taking into account compulsory tuition fees, books, other study-related expenditure, and your daily living costs like rent and food, and that you ascertain how you will meet these expenses. If you are not financing your study personally, you may qualify for a student loan, living costs, or student allowance from Studylink. We strongly recommend that you review the eligibility criteria for any scholarships both external and internal, including the FASS-funded scholarships below. FASS is also able to provide some funding for graduate research-related expenses and conference attendance.

FASS Awards

Awards are based on academic merit and are offered twice a year (in A and B semesters). The closing dates for applications are 2nd December 2019 for A Semester 2019 Awards and 30 April 2019 for B Semester Awards 2019.

Masters Thesis Awards

The (FASS) 120- / 240-point Masters Thesis Awards are offered twice a year (for A and B Semesters) to support and encourage students conducting research at Masters level. They are for students enrolling partor full-time in a 120-point Masters degree or in the thesis year of a 240-point Masters degree and be doing either a three-paper (90-point) or four-paper (120-point) thesis (or equivalent) in either A or B Semester in the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences.

The Award may be held in conjunction with other scholarships or awards; however, recipients of a University of Waikato Masters Research Scholarship, Sir Edmund Hillary Scholarship or any other scholarships or awards which have a combined value equal to or higher than $6,000 will only be eligible to receive 50% of the FASS Masters Thesis Award value..

The FASS 180-point Masters Awards are offered twice a year (for A and B Semesters) to support and encourage graduate students. Applicants must be enrolling part- or full-time in a 180-point Masters degree in either A or B Semester in the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences.

Honours & Postgraduate Diploma Awards

The FASS Honours / Postgraduate Diploma Awards are for students enrolling part- or full-time in one of the following FASS programmes of study: first year of 500-level study in an Honours degree or PGDip; fourth year of the BSW or BEP and enrolled in 400-level papers; first year of taught papers in a 240-point Masters degree; or the first 60 - 120 points of taught papers in a 180-point Masters degree. The Awards will have a value of up to $1,500.

Funding for Postgraduate Student Research

Students undertaking research as part of their postgraduate study may be eligible to apply for payment or reimbursement of some of the costs of research and conference attendance. Details, including eligibility, what can be claimed and maximum levels of funding are determined by Faculty policy, which is outlined below, in the relevant forms and the Faculty Graduate Handbook.

Assistance is provided for research students enrolled in MPhil/PhD, DMA and directed studies, dissertations and theses (including MUSI522, MUSI528, MUSI514 and MUSI524).

Please download and read the FUNDING FOR POSTGRADUATE RESEARCH document which provides information about eligibility criteria and how to apply.